Getting Started
Reference Sources are used to locate general factual information on a particular topic. They usually are read for specific pieces of information, rather than from beginning to end. Reference sources can refer to encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, indexes, atlases, and bibliographies. We have tried to link primarily to reference sources available digitally in this section. You can also browse reference sources through the IUB Virtual Reference Room or in the Wells Reference Reading Room. Materials in the Reference Room cannot be checked out, and thus must be consulted in-house.
Printing
In the Wells Library, you can find Toshiba printers in the Scholars' Commons and the Learning Commons on the first floor, as well as on the second, fourth, and fifth floors of the West Tower. For printing assistance and plotter printers, patrons should go to the fourth floor of the West Tower. Patrons with an IU login can use the My Print Center website to upload documents for printing. Please see the Printers and Technology page for more information.
Scanning and Photocopying
You can make photocopies on the first and ninth floors of the East Tower, or scan documents to save in digital format in several locations in the East and West Towers. Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (East Tower, 2nd floor) has microform machines that can scan images from microfilm, microfiche, and microopaques.
The Scholars' Commons Digitization Lab is a high-end multimedia, multidisciplinary self-service lab dedicated to the digital conversion of materials, and the management and migration of born-digital objects in support of research needs and interests of Indiana University Bloomington's faculty and students. The Lab provides both large format high-speed flatbed and sheet-fed scanners for text documents and large-format flatbeds with transparency capability for photographs, slides, and negatives. It also includes ABBYY Fine Reader (a high-end OCR software). See more on the library website.
Reference Sources for Gender Studies
Gender Studies
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies, 5 Volume Set by ISBN: 9781405196949Publication Date: 2016-05-09The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. Edited by a first rate team of geographically diverse scholars drawn from disciplines across the social sciences and humanities with international reputations in the field. Unique in its interdisciplinary approach across allied social sciences including sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, economics, literary studies, politics, history, and psychology as well as the fields of women's, gender and sexuality studies.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society by ISBN: 9781412909167Publication Date: 2008-11-26A comprehensive, two-volume encyclopedia covering the major theories, research, people and issues in contemporary gender studies. The work will be distinguished by a cross-national cross-cultural perspective providing comparative analyses of life experiences of men and women around the world.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by ISBN: 9780028659602Publication Date: 2007-08-23The Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender encompasses the various concepts of sex and gender that have arisen from the critical study of those subjects worldwide, as well as the emerging reimagination of the more traditional humanities and social sciences. Broad theoretical essays address issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; others examine issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation - all through the lens of gender. With a truly global perspective, topics of individual entries include changing conceptions of the feminine, the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more. In addition, the work discusses the influences of gender studies on various academic disciplines, examining how it has transformed and utilized methods and theories that have evolved.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by ISBN: 9781412990806Publication Date: 2012-08-29The media strongly influences our everyday notions of gender roles and our concepts of gender identity. The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce. Despite an abundance of textbooks, anthologies, and university press monographs on the topic of gender in media, until now no comprehensive reference work has tackled this topic of perennial interest in student research and papers.
Women's Studies
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World by ISBN: 9781412976855Publication Date: 2011-02-23The Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the Encyclopedia focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. Signed entries (with cross-references and recommended readings) cover the full range of issues in contemporary women's studies, with volumes including information relevant to the following academic disciplinary contexts: arts and media; business and economics; criminal justice; education; family studies; health; media; military; politics; science and technology; sports; religion; and women in different cultures and countries.
Women's Lives Around the World: A Global Encyclopedia by ISBN: 1610697111Publication Date: 2018-01-04Providing an in-depth look at the lives of women and girls in approximately 150 countries, this multivolume reference set offers readers transnational and postcolonial analysis of the many issues that are critical to the success of women and girls. For millennia, women around the world have shouldered the responsibility of caring for their families. But in recent decades, women have emerged as a major part of the global workforce, balancing careers and family life. How did this change happen? And how are societies in developing countries responding and adapting to women's newer roles in society?
Sexuality Studies
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality, 3 Volume Set by ISBN: 9781405190060Publication Date: 2015-06-02This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems. Covers 13 key areas of content, from clinical medicine and body modification to the language of sexuality and the history of sexology.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Sexuality [2 Volumes] by ISBN: 9781610698757Publication Date: 2021-03-01Providing a comprehensive framework for the broad subject of human sexuality, this two-volume set offers a context of historical development, scientific discovery, and sociopolitical and sociocultural movements.The broad topic of sex--encompassing subjects as varied as sexuality, sexual and gender identity, abortion, and such crimes as sexual assault--is one of the most controversial in American society today. This set provides readers with more than 450 entries on the subject, offering a comprehensive overview of major sexuality issues in American and global culture.
The Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality by ISBN: 9780199754700Publication Date: 2010This comprehensive scholarly reference work provides authoritative coverage of the full range of topics in the study of human sexual behaviour throughout the world. The Encyclopedia brings together an international team of 200 leading sexologists to provide complete view of the field. Entries represent the highest quality of scholarship, but are written in a manner accessible to student and non-specialist readers.
LGBTQ+ Studies
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by ISBN: 9781483371306Publication Date: 2016-06-02This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of LGBT Politics and Policy by ISBN: 9780190677923Publication Date: 2021-07-27This encyclopedia reviews and interprets a broad array of social science and humanities research on LGBT people, politics, and public policy around the world. The articles are organized around six major themes of the study of identity politics, with a focus on movement politics, public attitudes, political institutions, elections, and the broader context of political theory. Under the editorial directorship of Donald P. Haider-Markel and associate editors Carlos Ball, Gary Mucciaroni, Bruno Perreau, Craig A. Rimmerman, and Jami K. Taylor, this publication brings together peer-reviewed contributions by leading researchers and offers the most comprehensive view of research on LGBT politics and policy to date.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures by ISBN: 9781135728700Publication Date: 2021-06-13A rich heritage that needs to be documented. Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavors. It covers a long history and a dynamic and ever changing present, while opening up the academic profession to new scholarship and new ways of thinking.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by ISBN: 0684314274Publication Date: 2004-02-01A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by
ISBN: 9780684325538Publication Date: 2019-02-08A three-volume set, The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History (Charles Scribner's Sons) will provide a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide. Wide-ranging in scope, this encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, literature, psychology, sociology and others. This title is being created under an international editorial board, led by Howard Chiang (University of California, Davis).
Transgender Studies
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by ISBN: 9781544393810Publication Date: 2021-04-09Transgender studies, broadly defined, has become increasingly prominent as a field of study over the past several decades, particularly in the last ten years. This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries address a wide range of topics, from broad concepts (e.g., the criminal justice system, activism, mental health), to specific subjects (e.g., the trans pride flag, the Informed Consent Model, voice therapy), to key historical figures, events, and organizations (e.g., Lili Elbe, the Stonewall Riots, Black Lives Matter). Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.
Men's/Masculinity Studies
Men and Masculinities: A social, cultural, and historical encyclopedia by ISBN: 1576077756Publication Date: 2003-12-01This reference analyzes, summarizes, and explains the complexities of men's lives and the idea of modern manhood. It looks at literature, art, and music from a gender perspective, and covers intimacy, sexual violence, pornography, sexism and rituals.
A Dictionary of Gender Studies by ISBN: 9780191834837Publication Date: 2017This new dictionary provides clear and accessible definitions of a range of terms from within the fast-developing field of Gender Studies. It covers terms which have emerged out of Gender Studies, such as cyber feminism, the double burden, and the male gaze, and gender-focused definitions of more general terms, such as housework, intersectionality, and trolling. It also covers major feminist figures, including Hélène Cixous, bell hooks, and Mary Wollstonecraft, as well as groups and movements from Votes for Women to Reclaim the Night. It is an invaluable reference resource for students taking Gender Studies courses at undergraduate or postgraduate level, and for those applying a gender perspective within other subject areas.
Keywords for Gender and Sexuality Studies by ISBN: 9781479808137Publication Date: 2021-11-21Introduces key terms, debates, and histories for feminist studies in gender and sexuality. Keywords for Gender and Sexuality Studies introduces readers to a set of terms that will aid them in understanding the central methodological and political stakes currently energizing feminist and queer studies. The volume deepens the analyses of this field by highlighting justice-oriented intersectional movements and foregrounding Black, Indigenous, and women of color feminisms; transnational feminisms; queer of color critique; trans, disability, and fat studies; feminist science studies; and critiques of the state, law, and prisons that emerge from queer and women of color justice movements. Reflecting the interdisciplinary breadth of the field, this collection of eighty essays by scholars across the social sciences and the humanities weaves together methodologies from science and technology studies, affect theory, and queer historiographies, as well as Black Studies, Latinx Studies, Asian American, and Indigenous Studies.
Key Concepts in Gender Studies by ISBN: 9781446260289Publication Date: 2017-03-15The new edition of Key Concepts in Gender Studies is a lively and engaging introduction to this dynamic field. Thoroughly revised throughout, the second edition benefits from the addition of nine new concepts including Gender Social Movements, Intersectionality and Mainstreaming. Each of the entries: begins with a concise definition outlines the history of each term and the debates surrounding it includes illustrations of how the concept has been applied within the field offers examples which allow a critical re-evaluation of the concept is cross-referenced with the other key concepts ends with guidance on further reading.
Amazons, Bluestockings, and Crones: a feminist dictionary by ISBN: 0044408633Publication Date: 1992-12-01A Feminist Dictionary is an alternative dictionary written by Cheris Kramarae and Paula A. Treichler, with assistance from Ann Russo, originally published by Pandora Press in 1985. A revised second edition of the text was published in 1992, under the title Amazons, Bluestockings, and Crones: A Feminist Dictionary.
Feminist Philosophies A-Z by ISBN: 9780748621538Publication Date: 2007-03-22A concise alphabetical guide to the key terms, issues, theoretical approaches, projects and thinkers in feminist philosophy. Feminist Philosophies A-Z covers contemporary material in a number of feminist approaches. It illustrates the complexity, range and interconnectedness of issues in feminist philosophy while making clear the relationship of feminist philosophy to the rest of philosophy as a discipline (epistemology, metaphysics, ethics, social philosophy and metaphysics). Entries are pithy, detailed, informative and are cross-referenced to guide the reader through the lively debates in feminism. This volume is an indispensable resource for philosophers, students, and Women's Studies faculties as well as anyone with an interest in feminist philosophy."
The Dictionary of Feminist Theory by ISBN: 9780748619085Publication Date: 2003-10-16The most comprehensive guide to the terminology and history of feminist theory available.This established and much admired dictionary provides succinct definitions of more than 600 terms, topics, movements and approaches as well as influential feminist thinkers, activists and critics within feminist theory. Entries cover a wide range of cross-cultural issues relating to family, work, sexuality, gender, race, imperialism and representation. There are also explanations of terms within Anglo-American and French feminist literary theory that have come into common usage, including 'Backlash', 'Postcolonialism', 'Postmodernism' and 'Queer Theory'. From 'Autobiography' to 'Writing the Body', from 'Abortion' to 'Work' and from 'Anzaldua' to 'Zimmerman', the Dictionary is a valuable source for anyone interested in the ideas behind feminism or those approaching contemporary feminist thought for the first time.
Cassell's Queer Companion: a dictionary of lesbian and gay life and culture by ISBN: 0304343013Publication Date: 1995-05-01This text offers kaleidoscopic coverage of lesbian and gay life, history, politics, language, sex and humour. The volume's 2500 entries celebrate this culture's breadth, from Chinese folklore, Islamic poetry and Native American customs, to dykes on bikes, Alternative Miss World and the Gay Games.
Wimmin, Wimps and Wallflowers: an encyclopaedic dictionary of gender and sexual orientation bias in the United States by ISBN: 1877864803Publication Date: 2001-03-01This title takes on terms and expressions that malign gender or sexual orientation, or create controversy and confusion. Many of the words or expressions in this dictionary are recognizeable at once for their bias, others are words we often use without realizing their underlying meaning or without knowing how their meanings have been twisted to suit the purposes of those who demean others. The expressions shed light on how our lives are shaped by learned notions of gender and sexual orientation - in particular, how words are used to put some groups down and privilege others.
According to Bloomsbury Publishing, "companions are of interest to researchers, instructors and students. The Handbooks are a series of single-volume reference works which aim to map the parameters of a discipline or sub-discipline and present the 'state of the art' in terms of research."
A Companion to Gender Studies by ISBN: 0631221093Publication Date: 2004-10-08A Companion to Gender Studies presents a unified and comprehensive vision of its field, and its new directions. It is designed to demonstrate in action the rich interplay between gender and other markers of social position and (dis)privilege, such as race, class, ethnicity, and nationality. Presents a unified and comprehensive vision of gender studies, and its new directions, injecting a much-needed infusion of new ideas into the field; Organized thematically and written in a lucid and lively fashion, each chapter gives insightful consideration to the differing views on its topic, and also clarifies each contributor's own position.
A Companion to Gender History by ISBN: 1405149604Publication Date: 2006-06-16A Companion to Gender History surveys the history of women around the world, studies their interaction with men in gendered societies, and looks at the role of gender in shaping human behavior over thousands of years. An extensive survey of the history of women around the world, their interaction with men, and the role of gender in shaping human behavior over thousands of years. Discusses family history, the history of the body and sexuality, and cultural history alongside women's history and gender history. Considers the importance of class, region, ethnicity, race and religion to the formation of gendered societies. Gives due weight to pre-history and the pre-modern era as well as to the modern era.
The Routledge Companion to Media and Gender by ISBN: 9781135076948Publication Date: 2013-12-13The Routledge Companion to Media and Gender offers a comprehensive examination of media and gender studies, charting its histories, investigating ongoing controversies, and assessing future trends. Authors address a series of important questions that have consequences for current and future thinking in the field, including postfeminism, sexual violence, masculinity, media industries, queer identities, video games, digital policy, media activism, sexualization, docusoaps, teen drama, cosmetic surgery, media Islamophobia, sport, telenovelas, news audiences, pornography, and social and mobile media. A range of academic disciplines inform exploration of key issues around production and policymaking, representation, audience engagement, and the place of gender in media studies. The Routledge Companion to Media and Gender is an essential guide to the central ideas, concepts and debates currently shaping media and gender research.
Companion to Women's and Gender Studies by ISBN: 9781119315087Publication Date: 2020-06-08The Companion to Women's and Gender Studies is a comprehensive resource for students and scholars alike, exploring the central concepts, theories, themes, debates, and events in this dynamic field. Contributions from leading scholars and researchers cover a wide range of topics while providing diverse international, postcolonial, intersectional, and interdisciplinary insights. In-depth yet accessible chapters discuss the social construction and reproduction of gender and inequalities in various cultural, social-economic, and political contexts. Companion to Women's and Gender Studies is an ideal text for instructors teaching courses in gender, sexuality, and feminist studies, or related disciplines such as psychology, history, education, political science, sociology, and cultural studies, as well as practitioners and policy makers working on issues related to gender and sexuality.
Companion to Feminist Studies by ISBN: 9781119314943Publication Date: 2021-03-08A comprehensive overview of feminist scholarship edited by an internationally recognized and leading figure in the field. Companion to Feminist Studies provides a broad overview of the rich history and the multitude of approaches, theories, concepts, and debates central to this dynamic interdisciplinary field. Comprehensive yet accessible, this edited volume offers expert insights from contributors of diverse academic, national, and activist backgrounds—discussing contemporary research and themes while offering international, postcolonial, and intersectional perspectives on social, political, cultural, and economic institutions, social media, social justice movements, everyday discourse, and more.
The Cambridge Companion to Queer Studies by ISBN: 9781108741897Publication Date: 2020-06-11This Companion provides a guide to queer inquiry in literary and cultural studies. The essays represent new and emerging areas, including transgender studies, indigenous studies, disability studies, queer of color critique, performance studies, and studies of digital culture. Rather than being organized around a set of literary texts defined by a particular theme, literary movement, or demographic, this volume foregrounds a queer critical approach that moves across a wide array of literary traditions, genres, historical periods, national contexts, and media. This book traces the intellectual and political emergence of queer studies, addresses relevant critical debates in the field, provides an overview of queer approaches to genres, and explains how queer approaches have transformed understandings of key concepts in multiple fields.
The Ashgate Research Companion to Queer Theory by ISBN: 9780754690573Publication Date: 2009-12-28This Companion provides an interdisciplinary and international overview to the increasingly important field of queer studies. The team of respected and experienced scholars and activists foregrounds and promotes the many intersections of queer studies in an accessible, clear and engaging style which will be an indispensable tool for scholars and students alike.
A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies by ISBN: 9781405113298Publication Date: 2007-09-24A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies is the first single volume survey of current discussions taking place in this rapidly developing area of study. Recognizing the multidisciplinary nature of the field, the editors gather new essays by an international team of established and emerging scholars Addresses the politics, economics, history, and cultural impact of sexuality. Engages the future of queer studies by asking what sexuality stands for, what work it does, and how it continues to structure discussions in various academic disciplines as well as contemporary politics
The Cambridge Companion to Gay and Lesbian Writing by ISBN: 9780521888448Publication Date: 2010-11-25In the last two decades, lesbian and gay studies have transformed literary studies and developed into a vital and influential area for students and scholars. This Companion introduces readers to the range of debates that inform studies of works by lesbian and gay writers and of literary representations of same-sex desire and queer identities. Each chapter introduces key concepts in the field in an accessible way and uses several important literary texts to illustrate how these concepts can illuminate our readings of them. Authors discussed range from Henry James, E. M. Forster and Gertrude Stein to Sarah Waters and Carol Ann Duffy. With a chronology and guide to further reading, this volume offers a stimulating introduction to the diversity of approaches to lesbian and gay literature.
The Ashgate Research Companion to Lesbian and Gay Activism by ISBN: 9781409457091Publication Date: 2015-08-28The Ashgate Research Companion to Lesbian and Gay Activism provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative state-of-the-art review of the current research in this subject. Each of the 22 specially commissioned chapters develops and summarises their key issue or debate in relation to activism-that is the claims, strategies and mobilisations (including internal debates and divisions, impediments and state responses) of the lesbian and gay movement. By drawing together leading scholars from political science, sociology, anthropology and history this companion provides an up to the minute snapshot of current scholarship as well as signposting several fruitful avenues for future research. This book is both an invaluable resource for scholars and an indispensable teaching tool for use in the classroom.
Handbooks are concise reference works which provide practical information on a particular subject. While encyclopedias cover a wide range of topics, handbooks offer more focused analysis of a particular topic. Explore the following links for lists of handbooks in relevant fields:
- Routledge Global Gender Series The Global Gender series provides original research from across the humanities and social sciences, casting light on a range of topics from international authors examining the diverse and shifting issues of gender and sexuality on the world stage.
- Queer Interventions Series Queer Interventions is an exciting, fresh and unique new series designed to publish innovative, experimental and theoretically-engaged work in the burgeoning field of queer studies.
- Macmillan Interdisciplinary Handbooks: Gender Series
- These handbooks are great for students and readers with no or limited exposure to Gender Studies. Each handbook ushers the reader into a subfield of Gender Studies and explores twenty to thirty topics in that subfield. Borrow them from IU:
/lc.jpg)
/lc.jpg)
/lc.jpg)
/lc.jpg)
Images: Book Covers(clockwise from top left corner) Gender: Sources, Perspectives, and Methodologies, edited by renée c hoogland; Gender: Laughter, edited by Bettina Papenburg; Gender: Love, edited by Jennifer C Nash; Gender: Time, edited by Karin Sellberg; Gender: Animals, edited by Juno Salazar Parreñas, Gender: God, edited by Sian Hawthorne; Gender: Nature, edited by Iris van der Tuin; Gender: War, edited by Andrea Peto; Gender: Matter, edited by Stacy Alaimo
Routledge Handbooks, Available as E-books
All handbooks listed below link to an e-book, available with IU Bloomington affiliation. These handbooks focus on a specific topic featuring contributions from experts in that field. Compared to companions and encyclopedias, handbooks tend to focus on a more specialized niche or sub-discipline. Explore below:
Routledge International Handbook of Race, Class, and Gender by ISBN: 9780415632713Publication Date: 2014-07-22The Routledge International Handbook of Race, Class, and Gender chronicles the development, growth, history, impact, and future direction of race, gender, and class studies from a multidisciplinary perspective. The research in this subfield has been wide-ranging, including works in sociology, gender studies, anthropology, political science, social policy, history, and public health. As a result, the interdisciplinary nature of race, gender, and class and its ability to reach a large audience has been part of its appeal. The Handbook is aimed at undergraduate and graduate students who are looking for a basic history, overview of key themes, and future directions for the study of the intersection of race, class, and gender.
Routledge Handbook of Sexuality, Health and Rights by ISBN: 9780415468640Publication Date: 2010-01-12The last two decades have witnessed an explosion of research on sexuality as the social sciences have worked to find new ways of understanding a rapidly changing world. Growing concern for issues such as population, women's and men's reproductive health, and the HIV and AIDS pandemic, has since provided new legitimacy for work on sexuality, health and rights. A detailed and up-to-date reference work, the Routledge Handbook of Sexuality, Health and Rights provides an authoritative overview of the main issues in the field today. It is an essential reference for academics and researchers in the fields of sexuality studies, sexual health and human rights, and offers key reading for more advanced students.
Routledge International Handbook of Women's Sexual and Reproductive Health by ISBN: 9781138490260Publication Date: 2019-10-04The Routledge International Handbook of Women's Sexual and Reproductive Health is the authoritative reference work on important, leading-edge developments in the domains of women's sexual and reproductive health. The handbook adopts a life-cycle approach to examine key milestones and events in women's sexual and reproductive health. Contributors drawn from a range of disciplines, including psychology, medicine, nursing and midwifery, sociology, public health, women's studies, and indigenous studies, explore issues through three main lenses: the biopsychosocial model feminist perspectives international, multidisciplinary perspectives that acknowledge the intersection of identities in women's lives.
Routledge Handbook of Body Studies by ISBN: 9781136903328Publication Date: 2012-07-24In the last three decades, the human body has gained increasing prominence in contemporary political debates, and it has become a central topic of modern social sciences and humanities. Modern technologies - such as organ transplants, stem-cell research, nanotechnology, cosmetic surgery and cryonics - have changed how we think about the body. In this collection of thirty original essays by leading figures in the field, these issues are explored across a number of theoretical and disciplinary perspectives, including pragmatism, feminism, queer theory, post-modernism, post-humanism, cultural sociology, philosophy and anthropology. A wide range of case studies, which include cosmetics, diet, organ transplants, racial bodies, masculinity and sexuality, eating disorders, religion and the sacred body, and disability, are used to appraise these different perspectives. The Handbook's clear, direct style will appeal to a wide undergraduate audience in the social sciences, particularly for those studying medical sociology, gender studies, sports studies, disability studies, social gerontology, or the sociology of religion.
Routledge Handbook of Identity Studies by ISBN: 9780415555586Publication Date: 2011-07-26The Routledge Handbook of Identity Studies offers an exceptionally clear overview of the analysis of identity in the social sciences, and in so doing seeks to develop a new agenda for identity-studies in the twenty-first century. The key theories of identity, ranging from classical accounts to postmodern, psychoanalytic and feminist approaches, are drawn together and critically appraised, and there are substantive sections looking at racial, ethnic, gendered, queer, consumerist, virtual and global identities. The Handbook also makes an essential contribution to the debate now opening up over identity-politics and its cultural consequences. From anti-globalization protestors to new ecological warriors, from devotees of therapy culture to defenders of international human rights: the culture of identity-politics is fast redefining the public political sphere. What future for politics is there after the turn to identity? Throughout there is a strong emphasis on interdisciplinarity with essays covering sociology, psychology, politics, cultural studies and history.
The Routledge Handbook of LGBTQIA Administration and Policy by ISBN: 9780815366508Publication Date: 2018-10-29The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, Asexual, and Allies community is responding to a radically changed social and political environment. While a host of books have analyzed legal dimensions of LGBT public policy, this authoritative Routledge handbook is the first to utilize up-to-the-minute empirical data to examine and unpick the corrosive "post-factual" changes undermining LGBT public policy development. Taking an innovative look at a wide range of social and policy issues of broad interest--including homelessness, transgender rights, healthcare, immigration, substance abuse, caring for senior members of the community, sexual education, resilience, and international policy--through contributions from established scholars and rising stars, this comprehensive and cutting-edge volume will be a landmark reference work on LGBT administration and policy for decades to come.
Routledge Handbook of Gender in South Asia by ISBN: 9781317907077Publication Date: 2014-02-24Providing a comprehensive overview of the study of gender in South Asia, this Handbook covers the central contributions that have defined this area and captures innovative and emerging paradigms that are shaping the future of the field. It offers a wide range of disciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives spanning both the humanities and social sciences, focussing on India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The Handbook brings together key experts in the field of South Asia and gender, women and sexuality. This timely survey is essential reading for scholars who research and teach on South Asia as well as for scholars in related interdisciplinary fields that focus on women and gender from comparative and transnational perspectives.
Routledge Handbook of Queer African Studies by ISBN: 9781138503472Publication Date: 2019-12-20This handbook offers diverse perspectives on queer Africa, incorporating scholarly contributions on themes that reflect and inflect the trajectories of queer contributions to African studies within and outside academia. The Routledge Handbook of Queer African Studies incorporates a range of unique perspectives, reflecting ongoing struggles between regimes of inclusion and those of transformation premised upon different relational and reflexive engagements between queer embodiment and Africa's subjectivities. The book renders visible the ongoing transformations and resistance within African societies as well as the inventiveness of queer presence in negotiating belonging. This handbook will be of interest to students and scholars of gender and sexuality in Africa, queer studies, and African culture and society.
Routledge International Handbook of Crime and Gender Studies by ISBN: 9780415782166Publication Date: 2012-12-05Criminological research has historically been based on the study of men, boys and crime. As a result, the criminal justice system's development of policies, programs, and treatment regimes was based on the male offender. It was not until the 1970s that some criminologists began to draw attention to the neglect of gender in the study of crime, but today, the study of gender and crime is burgeoning within criminology and includes a vast literature. The Routledge International Handbook of Crime and Gender Studies is a collection of original, cutting-edge, multidisciplinary essays which provide a thorough overview of the history and development of research on gender and crime, covering topics based around: theoretical and methodological approaches gender and victimization gender and offending gendered work in the criminal justice system future directions in gender and crime research.
The Routledge Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality by ISBN: 9781138200265Publication Date: 2021-04-27The Routledge Handbook of Language, Gender, and Sexuality provides an accessible and authoritative overview of this dynamic and growing area of research. Covering cutting-edge debates in eight parts, it is designed as a series of mini edited collections, enabling the reader, and particularly the novice reader, to discover new ways of approaching language, gender, and sexuality. Each chapter provides a concise and critical discussion of a methodological approach, an empirical study to model the approach, a discussion of real-world applications, and further reading. This volume is key reading for all engaged in the study and research of language, gender, and sexuality within English language, sociolinguistics, discourse studies, applied linguistics, and gender studies.
The Routledge Handbook of Translation, Feminism and Gender by ISBN: 9781315158938Publication Date: 2020-06-09The Routledge Handbook of Translation, Feminism and Gender provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of feminism and gender awareness in translation and translation studies today. Bringing together work from more than 20 different countries - from Russia to Chile, Yemen, Turkey, China, India, Egypt and the Maghreb as well as the UK, Canada, the USA and Europe - this Handbook represents a transnational approach to this topic, which is in development in many parts of the world. Providing overviews of key questions and case studies of work currently in progress, this Handbook is the essential reference and resource for students and researchers of translation, feminism, and gender.
Routledge International Handbook of Sex Industry Research by ISBN: 9780815354123Publication Date: 2018-11-21The Routledge International Handbook of Sex Industry Research unites 45 contributions from researchers, sex workers, activists, and practitioners who live and work in 28 countries throughout the world. Focusing tightly on the contemporary state of sex industry research through eight carefully selected themes, this volume sets a clear agenda for future research, activism, and policymaking. Unprecedented in its global scope, the Routledge International Handbook of Sex Industry Research will appeal to students, researchers, and policy makers interested in fields such as sociology of gender and sexuality; crime, justice, and the sex industry; sociology of work and professions; and sexual politics.
The Routledge Handbook of Male Sex Work, Culture, and Society by ISBN: 9781003152835Publication Date: 2021-03-20Panoramic and provocative in its scope, this handbook is the definitive guide to contemporary issues associated with male sex work and a must read for those who study masculinities, male sexuality, sexual health, and sexual cultures. This groundbreaking volume will have a powerful impact on our understanding of this challenging, elusive subject. While the internet has brought the previously hidden worlds of male sex work more starkly into public view, academic research has often remained locked into descriptions of male sex workers and their clients as perverse. This approach shifts thought on male sex work from a hidden "social problem" to a publicly acknowledged "social phenomenon." This richly detailed, humane, and innovative collection retrieves male sex work from silence and invisibility on the one hand and its association with scandal and stigma on the other. A compelling scholarly read and a major contribution to a commercial sector that is often neglected in policy debates on sex work, this handbook will be of great interest to scholars of criminology, sociology, gender studies, and cultural studies and all those interested in male sex work.
Routledge Handbook of the Business of Women's Sport by ISBN: 9781351333948Publication Date: 2019-05-21Combining knowledge from sport management, marketing, media, leadership, governance, and consumer behavior in innovative ways, this book goes further than any other in surveying current theory and research on the business of women's sport around the world, making it an unparalleled resource for all those who aspire to work in, or understand, women's sport. Featuring international perspectives, with authors from North America, South America, Europe, Asia, and Oceania, and insightful, in-depth profiles of real leaders within different sectors of women's sport in the global sport industry, the Routledge Handbook of the Business of Women's Sport offers an integrated understanding of the ways traditional media and social media impact both the understanding and advancement of women's sport properties, businesses, teams, and athletes. An essential reference for any researcher or advanced student with an interest in women's sport or women in business, and useful supplementary reading for researchers and advanced students working in sport business, sport management, mainstream business and management, or women's studies.
Routledge International Handbook of Heterosexualities Studies by ISBN: 9781138340305Publication Date: 2019-12-27While a majority of people identify as "heterosexual" if asked about their sexual identity, what does that really mean? How did identifying as "straight" arise, particularly in relation to identifying as "queer," "lesbian," and "gay"? How are individuals socialized to view themselves and others as straight, even when many people are sexually fluid? How do institutions like government bodies, the educational system, and the family reinforce heterosexuality? This collection introduces the field of Critical Heterosexualities Studies and key lines of inquiry within the field. Like Masculinity Studies and Whiteness Studies, Heterosexualities Studies critically examines the dominant category and identity group in order to illuminate the taken-for-granted assumptions that surround heterosexual identities. Featuring both classic works and original essays written expressly for this volume, this collection provides a state-of-the-art overview of this exciting new field in sexualities studies.
Additional Handbooks
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies by ISBN: 0761943900Publication Date: 2006-06-12'This is an excellent and timely addition to the literature on Gender and Women's Studies. Each chapter explores contemporary questions and dilemmas in feminist theory and research, assessing the impacts of past research and feminist actions. Leading scholars discuss such topics as the state of women's and gender studies, feminist epistemology, cultural representations, globalization and the state, families, and work. This book is sure to be an essential resource for gender scholars and students' - Joan Acker, University of Oregon
Handbook of Lesbian and Gay Studies by ISBN: 0761965114Publication Date: 2002-11-18With this benchmark work, lesbian and gay studies comes of age. Drawing from a rich team of global contributors and carefully structured to elucidate the core issues in the field, it constitutes an unparalleled resource for teaching, research and debate.
The Oxford Handbook of Global LGBT and Sexual Diversity Politics by ISBN: 9780190673741Publication Date: 2020-03-02Struggles for LGBT rights and the security of sexual and gender minorities are ongoing, urgent concerns across the world. In chapters by both emerging and senior scholars, the Oxford Handbook of Global LGBT and Sexual Diversity Politics introduces key concepts in LGBT political studies and queer theory. Additionally, the handbook offers historical, geographic, and topical case studies contexualized within theoretical frameworks from the sociology of sexualities, critical race studies, postcolonialism, indigenous theories, social movement theory, and international relations theory.
Transgender: A Reference Handbook by ISBN: 9781440856914Publication Date: 2019-02-15This book provides a crucial resource for readers who are investigating trans issues. It takes a diverse and historic approach, focusing on more than one idea or one experience of trans identity or trans history. Transgender: A Reference Handbook is a go-to resource about the transgender experience. The book takes contemporary as well as historic aspects into consideration. It looks at ancient indigenous cultures that honored third, fourth, and fifth gender identities as well as more contemporary ideas of what "transgender" means. Notably, it focuses not only on Western medical ideas of gender affirmation but on cultural diversity surrounding the topic. This book will primarily serve as a reference guide and jumping off point for further research for those seeking information about what it means to be transgender.
Handbook of Studies on Men and Masculinities by ISBN: 0761923691Publication Date: 2004-07-20The Handbook of Studies on Men and Masculinities is an interdisciplinary and international culmination of the growth of men's studies that also offers insight about future directions for the field. The Handbook provides a broad view of masculinities primarily across the social sciences, with the inclusion of important debates in some areas of the humanities and natural sciences. The various approaches presented in this Handbook range across different disciplines, theoretical perspectives, methodologies, and conceptualizations in relation to the topic of men.
Enumerative bibliographies (also called compilative, reference or systematic) are lists of media (including books, film, etc.) which result in an overview of publications in a particular category. Enumerative bibliographies are based on a unifying principle such as creator, subject, date, or topic. Belanger (1977) distinguishes an enumerative bibliography from other bibliographic forms such as descriptive bibliography, analytical bibliography or textual bibliography in that its function is to record and list, rather than describe a source in detail or with any reference to the source's physical nature, materiality or textual transmission. The bibliographies below can help offer an overview of the scholarship in a field and assist you in identifying relevant sources.
Source: Bibliography (Wikipedia)
For additional bibliographies, see the following:
- Bibliographies in Gender and Women’s Studies (University of Wisconsin)
- Women's Studies: Indexes & Bibliographies (Suffolk University)
- Women — Bibliographies (Archives Library Information Center)
- Selected Resources on the History of Gender & Sexuality
This link opens in a new window
Guide to resources relevant to the history of gender & sexuality - People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History
- This link opens in a new window
Maintained by Paul Halsall and hosted by Fordham University. This is an online project presenting LGBT history through primary sources, secondary discussions, and images. It is part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project, located at the History Department of Fordham University. - Gender & Sexuality in Native American Societies: A Bibliography
This link opens in a new window
This bibliography provides an interdisciplinary overview of historical perspectives on gender and sexuality in Native American societies. - Gays and Lesbians: Reference and Bibliographical Resources Annotated
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled by Alvin Fritz, Gay and Lesbian Studies Coordinator at the University of Washington Libraries, and last updated June 2006. - MUSE in Focus: Commemorating the 19th AmendmentA curated selection of content from Project MUSE’s publishing partners that offers a broad range of perspectives about the history of the women’s suffrage movement in the U.S. and its continued relevance to the ongoing struggle for political equity and true democracy around the globe.
- Men's Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled by Michael Flood and originally published in 1992, the Men's Bibliography, 23rd Edition (2020) is a comprehensive bibliography of writing on men, masculinities, gender, and sexualities that is publicly available on the internet. - Black American Feminisms: A Multidisciplinary Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
Compiled by Sherri L. Barnes at the University of California, Santa Barbara Library, and last updated July 8, 2020. This is an extensive bibliography of Black American feminist thought from across the disciplines, with references that date back to the nineteenth century. It is an effort to combat the erasure of Black feminist subjectivity and thought through the promotion and use of the literature for the general public, students, scholars and life-long learners seeking information on African American feminism and African American feminist interpretations of a broad range of issues. - ViVa Women's HistoryViva is a current bibliography of women's and gender history in historical and women's studies journals. Articles in English, French, German, Dutch, Scandinavian languages, and, occasionally Spanish, are selected from 180 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals.
- Bibliography of Scholarship on Women and Gender Studies LibrarianshipCompiled by the ACRL Women and Gender Studies Section
