Anthropology

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

Also provides access to the current issues of peer-reviewed AAA journals, including: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Annals of Anthropological Practice, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Anthropology & Humanism, Anthropology News, Anthropology of Consciousness, Anthropology of Work Review, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Bulletin of the National Association of Student Anthropologists, Central Issues in Anthropology, City & Society, CSAS Bulletin, Cultural Anthropology, Culture, Agriculture, Economic Anthropology, El Mensajero, Ethnographic Praxis in Industry Conference Proceedings, Ethos, Food and Environment, General Anthropology Bulletin of the General Anthropology Division, The Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Journal of the Society for the Anthropology of Europe, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, Museum Anthropology, National Association for the Practice of Anthropology (NAPA) Bulletin, North American Dialogue, Nutritional Anthropology, PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review, Proceedings of the African Futures Conference, SOLGAN, Teaching Anthropology: SACC Notes, Transforming Anthropology, Visual Anthropology Review, and Voices. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.

Covers modern world history (excluding the United States and Canada which are covered in the database America: History and Life) from 1450 to the present. It currently indexes about 2,300 journals in 40 languages, with indexing also for some books and dissertations. Most of the article citations include abstracts of 75-100 words.