Anthropology

Also provides access to the current issues of peer-reviewed AAA journals, including: American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Annals of Anthropological Practice, Anthropology & Education Quarterly, Anthropology & Humanism, Anthropology News, Anthropology of Consciousness, Anthropology of Work Review, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Bulletin of the National Association of Student Anthropologists, Central Issues in Anthropology, City & Society, CSAS Bulletin, Cultural Anthropology, Culture, Agriculture, Economic Anthropology, El Mensajero, Ethnographic Praxis in Industry Conference Proceedings, Ethos, Food and Environment, General Anthropology Bulletin of the General Anthropology Division, The Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Journal of the Society for the Anthropology of Europe, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, Museum Anthropology, National Association for the Practice of Anthropology (NAPA) Bulletin, North American Dialogue, Nutritional Anthropology, PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review, Proceedings of the African Futures Conference, SOLGAN, Teaching Anthropology: SACC Notes, Transforming Anthropology, Visual Anthropology Review, and Voices. Journal issues generally appear online prior to distribution in print.

IBSS indexes anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology, and interdisciplinary research in social sciences. It is compiled by the London School of Economics and Political Science, and includes over three million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It incorporates over 100 languages and countries. 

This database is the electronic equivalent of four separate print indexes: International Bibliography of Anthropology (REF Z5111.I62); International Bibliography of Economics (REF Z7164.E2 I62); International Bibliography of Political Science (REF Z7163. I62); and International Bibliography of Sociology (REF Z7161. I62).
 

eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. Use to find information on a particular culture or cultural trait or for making cross-cultural comparisons. Includes thousands of pages of text from books, articles, and unpublished manuscripts as well as English translations of foreign texts available exclusively in HRAF.

Very little scholarly material exists about Southern Sudan, which can be readily explained given the unstable political situation and 50 plus years of civil war in the region; yet, the Nuer are known to most students of anthropology. In fact, it has been pointed out that the Nuer may well be the most important case study in the history of anthropology. This is a result of Sir Edward Evans-Pritchard’s classic studies from the 1930s. He was the first anthropologist working in Africa who used research methods based on long-term fieldwork and participant observation. Based on his fieldwork among the Nuer he published three ethnographies which are now classics in the field and studied by many students of anthropology (Evans-Pritchard 1940; 1951; 1956). In fact, he dedicated one of his books to the "staff of the American Mission at Nasser", which is where Ms. Vandevort was stationed. Jon Holtzman, author of a book about Nuer immigrants in the U.S. (Holtzman 2000), points out that 'virtually all introductory textbooks in anthropology make reference (and usually multiple reference) to the Nuer as a central example for various aspects of human culture.

Annual Reviews is a nonprofit publisher dedicated to synthesizing and integrating knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society. Editorial committees select all topics for review, and the articles are written by authors who are recognized experts in the field.

This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.

Access is for Volumes 1-4.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vols. I and II: Foundational Films 
Includes classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. III: Indigenous Voices
Includes films by indigenous filmmakers. Emphasis is on the human effects of climate change, sustainability, indigenous and local ways of interpreting history, cultural change, and traditional knowledge and storytelling. 

Ethnographic Video Online, Vol. IV: Festivals and Archives
Includes titles by contemporary visual anthropologists. Also contains the full catalog of anthropology films from Berkeley Media, formerly known as the University of California’s Extension Center for Media.