Covers the history of design, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. It also features the AD100, the Architectural Digest list of top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide.
Coverage includes international scholarly and popular literature as well as publications of professional associations, state and regional periodicals, and major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
Content includes: articles from the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and other reference works, a museum directory, 100+ academic e-books, museum exhibitions, 14,000+ color images from partner institutions, and research and learning tools.
Contains over 40 eBooks on topics ranging from architecture and architectural history, to theory, design, urbanism, landscape, and interiors. Includes scholars and books for all levels, from introductory texts for students, to guides for practicing architects and designers.
Covers trends and news in men and women's fashion, and beauty and retail industries.
Make a Research Plan
Before you dive in, think about how to approach your research.
Define your topic - Start to gather information about your topic in order to understand the full range of options you can explore. Gathering background information is helpful. Us the Getting Started page of this research guide to find helpful sources.
Know where to search - Some topics are unlikely to be covered in book form; in these cases, you would not want to spend time searching the library catalog. Instead, take a look at the Apparel Merchandising Research page Interior Design Research page to find databases. Other very broad topics may be well-documented in many books, so a search in IUCAT may be the best approach.
Stay organized - Keep track of all your sources while you are searching. Take notes while you're reading, in order to organize your thoughts in preparation for your work. Learn about art historical writing, and understand citation styles better by looking at the Writing and Citing page.
All Apparel Merchandising and Interior Design Guides