Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Have You Been Cited?

Sources P - Z

PAIS (ProQuest)
Go to Advanced Search
Set the drop-down menu to Author
In the search box, enter your author's name
Search
Search examples:
Ford, Robert C
ostrom, elinor
Robert C. Ford
"ostrom, elinor"
You may be prompted from a list of authors (autocomplete); you can choose the one you want
Click on Search
In the list of search results, select an article and click on it
On the right of the bibliographic information and abstract look for Cited by [number]
Click on Cited by [number]
You will see the items that cite the author's article ([number] documents in ProQuest cite:)


Project Muse
Enter your terms in the search box
You may also add boolean operators to combine terms
Click on a title
Look for your author name in the text
For books, use within that item in the search box (upper right):"search Within Book"
Search examples:
"Ferrell, Robert H."
"ferrell, r. h."
"Robert H. Ferrell"
"L. Infeld"
"Ferrell 1980"
"west, cornel"
"doris kearns goodwin"


PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Go to Advanced Search
From the dropdown menu under More Options, select: References -- REF
Search your author's name
Search examples:
"Smith, Linda b."
"Linda b. Smith"
"Smith, l. b."
"Graf Estes, K."
You will a list of articles that have cited your aothor's work


Psychiatry Online
Go to Advanced
Set the drop-down menu to Author
Search an author
Search examples:
George H. Fried
Fried, George H.
"Fried, George H."
You can also use Narrow results to select an author name from the list (especially if you search a partial name, as: fried, g or moore)
In the list of search results, Click on an article
Look to the right of the bibliographic information for: cited by
Click on Cited by
You will find a list of articles that have cited your author's work


Publish or Perish
Install Publish or Perish
Once the program is installed, you will see the search grid and a list of sources
Select an existing search to inspect or modify, or click one of these bottons to create a new seach:
Crossref (Free data source)
Google scholar (Free data source)
Google scholar profile (Free data source)
Microsoft (Free registration required)
Scopus (Free registration required)
Web of Science (External subscription required)
After you select a source, search your author
Search examples:
graf-estes, k OR "graf estes, k" OR "estes, k.g."
Smith, Linda B.
You may see:
Warning: Results limit reached
The search returned 2000 results, which is the maximum allowed for this data source This may effect the search coverage. Click help for more information
For Google scholar: In the result list highlight a title
Right click and select Open citing works in browser


PubMed
Go to Advanced search (PubMed Advanced Search Builder)
Set the drop-down menu to Author
Begin typing the author name
Hennessy a
You will be prompted for names as they appear in the database
You may also use Show index list
Select your author
Search
In the search results, click on an item
Look to the right for Cited by [number] PubMed Central articles
You will see a short list of articles that cite the item you chose
Click on "See all" to see all the references in complete bibliographic format


Sage Journals Online
Go to Advanced Search
In the drop-down menu (default Anywhere) change to Author
Type your author name
Search
Search examples:
"doris kearns goodwin"
"linda b. smith"
"smith, linda b."
"smith, l. b."
Click to open a title from the list of results
To the right of the reference and abstract or text look for "Articles Citing This One: [number]
Click on"View All"
In the next screen look down to: "Articles Citing this One"
You can click on those title for full bibliographic information and often the full text
*Not all results will be available full text in Sage journals


Science Direct
Use the author name search box
Type your author name and Search
Click on the title(s) of the results found by your author search
To the right look for Citing article [(number)]
Click on it to show citing article(s) and use "View Details" to show the full imformation about the citing article
Search examples:
"linda b. smith"
"smith, linda b."
"smith, l. b."
You can also go to Advanced search and search your author's name


SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
Create an account (free)
Log in to your account
Under References on the left, click on author name and fill in the information
It is probably a good idea to keep checked: Look for alternate spellings of the last name
Search
Select the names you want to search by checking the box before the name
Click on Get References
You will have a list of articles by the author you have searched
You can select items one at a time or as a group
Once chosen, look above the list of references for Get Related Citations
Use the drop down to select: Get Citing, and click on it
You will now see a list of articles that have cited your author (in the titles you chose to examine)


Scitation
Click on the magnifying glass icon at the end of the search box labeled: "Enter words / phrases / DOI / ISBN / authors / keywords / etc."
You will go to Advanced Search
From the drop-down menu select Author
Search your author's name
You will see a list of titles and a note above the title with the number of citations
Click on a title
Beneath the bibliographic information you will see ABSTRACT CITED BY TOOLS
Click on CITED BY
You will see a list of items that have cited the article you selected
Jeremy McCormick
McCormick, Jeremy
Carol K. Hall
"Carol K. Hall"
*When you find an article by an author, you may click on the author's name in the bibliographic information and generate a list of other items by that author.


Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Go to Advanced Search
Set the drop-down menu to Author
In the search box, enter your author's name
Search
Search examples:
Svarstad, Bonnie L.
S.varstad, Bonnie L.
Bonnie L. Svarstad
Schmidt, K.
Schmidt, Christa K.
You may be prompted from a list of authors (autocomplete); you can choose the one you want
Click on Search
In the list of search results, select an article and click on it
On the right of the bibliographic information and abstract look for Cited by [number]
Click on Cited by [number]
You will see the items that cite the author's article ([number] documents in ProQuest cite:)


Springer Link
Click on the gear icon to go to Advanced Search
Find Resources
with the exact phrase
Search examples:
doris kearns goodwin
Davis, Natalie Zemon
Davis, N. Z
You may also use phrase searching in the basic search by adding quotes
"Davis, N. Z."
In the list of results look at the full text to see which item(s) by your author the source has cited


Toxline (ProQuest)
Go to Advanced Search
Set drop-down menu to Author
Set the drop-down menu to Author
In the search box, enter your author's name
Search
Search examples:
"smith, g a"
"hennessy, sara"
hennessy sara
You may be prompted from a list of authors (autocomplete); you can choose the one you want Click on Search
In the list of search results, select an article and click on it
On the right of the bibliographic information and abstract look for Cited by [number]
Click on Cited by [number]
You will see the items that cite the author's article ([number] documents in ProQuest cite:)


Wiley Online Library
Go to Advanced search
Set drop-down menu to Author
Author names may appear with full first names or just initials. Place author names in quotes to find a specific name and its variants. For example, “John Smith” finds articles by John Smith, John K Smith and John Colby-Smith while “J Smith” finds articles by J Smith, JR Smith, John Smith and Julie Smith.
In the list of articles, clink on a title
Click on Citing literature
Below the bibliographic information and abstract you will see: Citing Literature
Click on Citing Literature
Beneath "Number of times cited according to CrossRef: [number]" you will see a list of citing articles