General Resources
- Photos of the Great War: World War I Image Archive. (WWI/WWW Project.)Currently has 1844 images from the war divided into subjects such as troops and the war at sea.
- Versailles Treaty. (Avalon Project at Yale)Complete text of the Treaty.
- BBC World War One Records.Contains links to several analyses of WWI and gives a good overview of the issues of the war. It also includes links to material for WWII and the Cold War.
- The First World War Poetry Digital Archive. (Oxford)Contains poetry written by soldiers and others on the front during WWI. Also, an online archive of audio files and film clips from WWI. Includes a link to the Great War Archive that is part of the site.
- American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I. (Library of Congress)Sound recordings of American leaders from 1918-1920. Speeches focus on issues and events from WWI.
- The Heritage of the Great War. (Rob Ruggenberg, independent)Extremely graphic images of the violence of WWI.
- ProQuest Congressional
This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to congressional publications since 1789 and some full-text of reports, bills, resolutions, and laws to the present.
- America: History & Life
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
- Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, chapters and theses about world history, 1450 to present. - Periodicals Index Online
- This link opens in a new window
Index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Encompasses three centuries of scholarly publication in over 60 languages and dialects, including English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text of the British House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1901-2022. - Historical Documents, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
This link opens in a new window
Historical Documents, Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
World War I by ISBN: 9780313349614Publication Date: 2007-12-30Primary documents from the World War I era bring to life the causes, events and consequences of those tumultuous and violent years. Varied perspectives provide a valuable overview of the many and often complicated reactions by Americans to Pre-war European politics, Archduke Ferdinand's assassination, the sinking of the Lusitania by a German submarine, the major battles fought, and of the eventual and controversial entry into the war by the United States, among others. Will be a valued resource for researchers seeking to tap into contemporary attitudes toward events long gone.
The European Powers in the First World War by ISBN: 0815303998Publication Date: 1996-03-01This volume has over 600 entries on various aspects of the war such as causes, major battles, and weapons.
Biographical Dictionary of World War I by ISBN: 0313213569Publication Date: 1982-08-26Contains brief biographies of the major figures of the war, both political and military. After each entry there are suggestions for further reading.
The Historical Atlas of World War I by ISBN: 0805026517Publication Date: 1994-08-01Detailed color maps accompanied by brief articles. It is divided chronologically.
The First World War by ISBN: 0375400524Publication Date: 1999-05-11Another good general history of the war.
The United States in the First World War by ISBN: 0824070550Publication Date: 1995-09-01Volume focuses on domestic issues, such as civil rights, industrial mobilization, and the peace movement, as well as military aspects. The emphasis is US participation in the war. This volume is a companion to the European Powers in the First World War.- President Wilson's foreign policy : messages, addresses, papers byPublication Date: New York : Oxford University Press, American Branch, 1918.A collection of the papers of Woodrow Wilson, who was U.S. President during World War I.
- President Wilson's state papers and addresses byPublication Date: New York, George H. Doran company, The Review of reviews company [c1918]These volumes contain the papers of Woodrow Wilson, who was U.S. President during World War I.
- Diplomatic documents relating to the outbreak of the European war byPublication Date: New York, Oxford university press, American branch; [etc., etc.] 1916.The first volume contains the Austro- Hungarian Red Book, the Belgian Grey Book, the French Yellow Book, and excerpts from the British Blue Book. The second volume contains the books of Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Russia, and Serbia. Also available as an e-book: https://iucat.iu.edu/catalog/15799920
- British Documents on Foreign Affairs:Report and Papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print.Publication Date: Fredrick, MD: University Publications of America, [year].This large set is similar to the Foreign Relations Papers of the United States. There are several series, depending on timeframe.
- Official German documents relating to the world war byPublication Date: New York [etc.] Oxford University Press, 1923.Two volume set contains the reports of the committees established by the German National Constituent Assembly to study the war. The reports were translated by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.
- Official History of Australia in the War of 1914-1918Publication Date: Sydney: Angus & Robertson, Ltd., 1921-1941Twelve volumes cover all aspects of Australian involvement in the various theaters of the war and the different branches of the Australian military. The final volume is a photographic history of the war.
For further research you may want to browse the following call number ranges.
LC
D501 - D680 World War I.
D529 - D578 Campaigns.
D580 - D589 Naval Operations.
D635 Economics
SUDOC
D114. Center of Military History
D221. Naval Historical Center
W85.1 - W85.5 Training Camp Activities Commission
W87.1 - W87.27 Air Service
W90.1 - 90.4 Tank Corps
W88.1 - W88.4 Motortransport Corps
W95.1 - W95.25 American Expeditionary Forces
Wt1. - Wt5. Wartrade Board
Searching the Catalog
For a subject search, look under European War, 1914-1918 as well as World War, 1914-1919.