Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biographical Resources

Online Indexes and Databases

Acta Sanctorum
Contains the lives of the saints as published over three hundred years by the Société des Bollandistes. All prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices, Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL) reference numbers, are also included.

African Writers Series
Provides full-text access for over 200 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fictional prose by African authors, based on Heinemann African Writers Series. Works are in English or in English translation.

Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon Online (Artists of the World Online)
Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon Online contains authoritative, up-to-date biographical information on more than one-million artists. Each article contains information on the artist's creative work, historical significance, details of exhibitions, and bibliographies.

American Drama
Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth century. Represented genres include plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues, and others. Coverage: 1714-1915

American National Biography Online
"Discover biographies of more than 19,000 men and women — from all eras and walks of life — whose lives have shaped American history and culture." Fully searchable.

AnthroSource
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived, full-text issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins. Coverage: 1900 to present

Artemis Literary Sources
Artemis Literary Sources contains primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies.

Arts: Search
Arts: Search (formerly Designinform) consists of three databases: Design Abstracts Retrospective, ReVIEW, and Design Profiles. Coverage: 19th Century to present

Asian American Drama
Begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late-nineteenth century and hosts contemporary playwrights, productions, and biographical and theatrical information. Includes 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
A database of biographical information, many with photos, for all individuals who have served in the United States Congress and the Continental Congress

Biographies
Biographical information on U.S. State Department officials, including ambassadors to foreign governments, with some pictures

Biographical memoirs of fellows of the Royal Society
Continues Obituary notices of fellows of the Royal Society

Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences
"Published since 1877, Biographical Memoirs provide the life histories and selected bibliographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members. Colleagues familiar with the subject's work write these memoirs and as such, the series provides a biographical history of science in America."

Biographical Portal of the Netherlands
"Here you will find scientifically sound information about leaders and other startling figures from Dutch history, from the earliest past to the present. The website is always supplemented with information and images.:

Biografisch Woordenboek van Nederland
"Het Biografisch Woordenboek van Nederland (BWN) is sinds jaar en dag het enige algemene en nationale biografisch woordenboek dat Nederland kent."

Biography.com
Generally popular figures with extra features such as celebrity news and who died today?

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes biographical entries in about 2700 reference books, covering contemporary and historical figures.

Biography in Context
Full-text biographical information on more than 528,000 people from throughout history.

Blackwell/Wiley Reference Online
A collection of over 300 online reference books in the humanities and social sciences.

Brepolis Medieval Encyclopaedias
Combines access to the Lexikon des Mittelalters with a supplement, the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages. The Lexikon des Mittelalters online contains some 37,000 signed articles and covers all aspects of medieval studies for the period 300 to 1500.

Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient World
Unrivalled reference work for the ancient world, including fifteen volumes on Greco-Roman antiquity, and five volumes on the classical tradition.

The Catholic Encyclopedia
Digitized version of the 1917 edition

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Lives of scientists from classical antiquity to modern times.

CQ Congress Collection
A research and reference tool for historical analysis of members of Congress, their voting behavior, and the legislative process. Coverage: 1981 to present.

CQ Political Reference Suite
An online reference tool on American politics and world affairs. Coverage: 1945 to present.

Current Biography Illustrated
Provides access to the full text biographies, images, and obituaries from all of the volumes of Current Biography Yearbook.

Deutsche Biographie
"Certified information on more than 730.000 personalities and families in the German speaking areas from the Middle Ages to the present; namely 50.000 biographies (ADB and NDB) and links to more than 230 online resources (literature, dictionaries, source editions etc.)"

Dictionary of Canadian Biography
“…the object [of a biographical dictionary of Canada] shall be not only to supply an acknowledged want in Canadian literature, but . . . it should compete with or even surpass works of a similar character produced elsewhere.” -- James Nicholson

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Biographical information for literary figures. Complete text of Gale's DLB series.

Dictionary of National Biography
60,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000.

Encyclopaedia Britannica
The equivalent of the complete printed Encyclopaedia Britannica plus Internet links.

Encyclopaedia Judaica
Authoritative reference resource for Jewish knowledge and life.

Encyclopaedia of Islam
The standard, authoritative encyclopedia on the religion of Islam and the Islamicate world. Online edition of print version published 1954-2003.

Film Index International
Contains data from the British Film Institute covering world cinema from 1930 to the present.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Access to, among other things, The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives.

Grove Dictionary of Art (Oxford Art Online)
Online version of award-winning Grove Dictionary of Art contains the fulltext of all 41,000 articles of the 34-volume print edition, including scholarly bibliographies.

Holocaust Encyclopedia
An encyclopedia with extra features concerning the Holocaust and the principal figures involved.

International Index to the Performing Arts
Covers the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theatre, stagecraft, musical theatre, broadcast, circus, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, and more.

International Index to Music Periodicals
Index of more than 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries.

Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from all time periods in many genres. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes.

LitFinder
Includes full-text of poems, essays and short stories from antiquity to the present.

Marquis Biographies Online
Database containing profiles on over 1.5 million individuals from all fields, including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and more

MathSciNet
An index to mathematical literature with a section for biographies of mathematicians.

Mergent Intellect
Web-based application featuring a collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate business intelligence. Provides access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles.

Music Index Online
Subject and author index to more than 655 international music journals covering every aspect of classical, popular, and world music.

Nexis Uni
Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

Nobel Prize
Information about the Nobel Prizes, the Nobel Laureates and their discoveries. It also provides information about the donor, Alfred Nobel and his will, and the Nobel Foundation.

North American Theatre Online
A database of full-text reference works in theatre, drama, and related fields, including links to full-text plays.

Online Dictionary of Dutch Women
"The Digital Women's Lexicon of the Netherlands ( DVN ) provides information about the most remarkable women in the history of the Netherlands and its overseas territories from the earliest times to the present. In short biographical sketches you will find information about women who were once influential, famous or infamous, but are now mostly forgotten."

Orlando
Orlando more info Provides entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies from centuries of women's writing.

Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD)
Over 6,000 entries provide comprehensive coverage of the Greco-Roman world, including early Christianity.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
Contains 600 entries covering the prehistoric, predynastic, and dynastic phases of ancient Egypt within the context of its contiguous and sometimes conquering neighbors.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Broad and international in scope, this encyclopedia covers all aspects of theatre and performance, from costuming, to actors, to Broadway shows. Coverage: Ancient Greece to present.

Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online incorporates Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.

Oxford Reference Online
Approximately 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works. Each title may be searched separately and a search may also be made across all.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Index with abstracts in English to all categories of literature about all genres of music. Books, theses and dissertations, articles in journals.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online version of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Something About the Author
Biographies of children's authors and illustrators.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A dynamic reference work, each entry is maintained by an expert in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the Editorial Board.

World Biographical Information System
Worldwide index to biographical information on people from the 16th to the 20th centuries. Full text of digital facsimile articles from biographical reference works.