Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Brief Guide to Opinion Polls

U.S. Polls

ANES (American National Election Studies), The ANES Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral Behavior
"The Guide provides immediate access to tables and graphs that display the ebb and flow of public opinion, electoral behavior, and choice in American politics over time. It serves as a resource for political observers, policy makers, and journalists, teachers, students, and social scientists. The Guide are produced from data in the ANES Cumulative Data File."

CBS News Polls
Polls conducted by CBS News.

Fox News Poll
Primarily, but not entirely, political polls From Fox News.

Gallup Analytics
Gallup data from countries that are home to more than 98% of the world's population through a web- based portal. Gallup Poll Briefing(2006 - present)
Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing (2002 - 2005)
Gallup Poll Monthly (1996 - 2002).

Gallup Poll News Service
This resource "covers rapid measurements and assessments of public opinion concerning virtually every political, social, and economic issue facing the United States and the world."

General Social Survey
Part of the National Data Program for the Social Sciences, "the GSS gathers data on contemporary American society in order to monitor and explain trends and constants in attitudes, behaviors, and attributes since 1972. . . . [It covers topics such as] civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well- being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events."

Harris Poll
"Begun in 1963. . . th[is] nationally representative poll, conducted primarily online, measures the knowledge, opinions, behaviors, and motivations of the general public. New and trended polls on a wide variety of subjects including politics, the economy, healthcare, foreign affairs, science and technology, sports and entertainment, and lifestyles are published weekly."

Huffpost
Politics, articles, commentary, polls and polling

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
The ICPSR supplies the numeric raw data from a variety of sources, including survey research, censuses, and administrative records. Please note: Users must create an account on campus before they can access this resource off campus.

iPOLL
With surveys dating back to 1936, iPoll contains polls conducted by other organizations such as AP, Harris, Gallup, National Opinion Research Center, and other major news providers.

Ipsos
News and polling

IRI Public Opinion Polls
"Established in April 1983, IRI is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization. . . . Our resource library is a repository for our public opinion polls, election observation and assessment reports, manuals, and other training and research materials."

Kaiser Family Foundation
"Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy."

Marist Institute for Public Opinion
Founded in 1978, The Marist Institute for Public Opinion (MIPO) is a survey research center at Marist College in Poughkeepsie, New York. The Marist Poll measures public opinion at the local, state, and national level.

Monmouth University Polling Institute
The Monmouth University Polling Institute concentrates on the state of New Jersey but also covers regional and national public policy issues. Polls are in PDF format.

New York Times Poll

NY Times Poll Watch

Odum Institute
"The Odum Institute provides services for researchers in managing, archiving, and preserving social science data." Odum Public Opinion Data includes the Community Indicators Survey, the Harris collection (includes Harris polling and other sources), the NNSP (National Network of State Polls), Southern Regional Public Opinion, and USA Today.

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center conducts opinion polls and surveys on subjects such as U.S. Politics, Media & News, Social Trends, Religion, Internet & Tech, Science, and Hispanics. See also the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press and Pew Social & Demographic Trends.

Polling the Nations
Access More than 750,000 Original Poll Questions and Results from 18,000+ Surveys Conducted in the U.S. and 100+ Other Countries from 1986 to the Present The print and microfiche counterpart to this resource is titled American Public Opinion Index and contains surveys beginning in 1981.

PollingReport.com
“An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.”

 Public Agenda Online
"Public Agenda helps leaders, stakeholders, and the public navigate divisive and complex issues."

Public Policy Polling
Public Policy Polling features polling data on state and national public policy issues, politics,and electionsbeginning in 2006.

Quinnipiac University Poll
"The independent Quinnipiac University Poll regularly surveys residents in Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and nationwide about political races, state and national elections, and issues of public concern, such as schools, taxes, transportation, municipal services, and the environment."

RealClear Politics
News, articles and latest polls.

Reuters Polling
"Track American public opinion with the Reuters/Ipsos poll."

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Founded in 1947, the Roper Center "holds data dating back to the 1930s and from over 100 nations." The collection now includes "over 22,000 datasets from more than 100 countries, and over 650,000 questions in iPOLL."

Suffolk University Political Research Center
"Established in 2002 and based in Boston, the Suffolk University Political Research Center (SUPRC) conducts statewide and national surveys as well as bellwether polls. It examines political races and analyzes voters' opinions on key issues."

USC Dornsife / Los Angeles Times "Daybreak" poll
"The USC Dornsife Poll is a series of public opinion polls, both national and statewide, designed to survey voter attitudes on a wide range of political, policy, social, and cultural issues. Conducted at regular intervals throughout the year, the USC Dornsife Poll has been widely cited, helping to inform the public and to encourage discourse on key political and policy issues."

The Washington Post

WSJ/NBC News Polls
"Find complete coverage of The Wall Street Journal/NBC News polls on the 2016 presidential election and other subjects, as well as links to the full results."

YouGov
Choose "see results" for data on politics, life, consumer, archive, live results, and hot topics today.