E-Books
E-Books for Religious Studies
IUCAT includes 2.5 million e-books for the Bloomington campus (see this page for more info)
Temporary COVID-19 e-book access (note: the websites below include e-books that are unavailable in IUCAT)
RedShelf is temporarily offering free electronic textbooks to students. Sign up using your institutional email. The e-books can be borrowed until May 25.
VitalSource is temporarily offering free electronic textbooks to students and instructors. Sign up using your institutional email. The e-books can be borrowed until May 25.
JSTOR is temporarily offering more e-books and e-journals than IUB affiliates can typically access. Click here for more information, but remember to log-in through the IU Libraries portal to access the books. The content is available through June 30.
Project Muse is temporarily offering more e-books and e-journals than IUB affiliates can typically access. Click here for a full list of participating publishers. Each publisher has its own dates during which time you can access the material.
E-Resources for Religious Studies
E-Resources through IU for Religious Studies
A full list of primary resources is available on the Religious Studies subject page
The following databases include secondary sources (e.g. scholarly articles or books about historical topics):
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
- This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is a combined index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, biblical studies, world religions, church history, religious perspectives on social issues.
- America: History & Life
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews.
- Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, chapters and theses about world history, 1450 to present. - JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business. - Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access and indexing for e-journals and e-books from a variety of scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Freely available primary sources
Listed below are several websites with digitized primary sources (or with lists of other websites). It is just a small sampling of what's freely available out there.
For a long list of collections of digitized primary sources, click here.
- 250+ Killer Digital Libraries and ArchivesThis list contains over 250 libraries and archives that focus mainly on localized, regional, and U.S. history, but it also includes larger collections, eText and eBook repositories, and a short list of directories to help you continue your research efforts.
death - Cambridge Digital Library Christian WorksIn this selection we present some of our finest Christian manuscripts and early printed books, spanning over 1000 years of worship and debate and reflecting both Church ceremonial and private devotion.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsAccess online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
- Princeton Digital Library of Islamic ManuscriptsThe Princeton Digital Library of Islamic Manuscripts is a major component of the Islamic Manuscripts Cataloging and Digitization Project, a four-year project under the overall direction of Don C. Skemer, the Library's Curator of Manuscripts.
- Tibetan Manuscript - List of CollectionsList of digital resources maintained by the Columbia University Libraries
- Umbraumbrasearch.org brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.