E-Resources for Arts & Humanities

Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory.

Multilingual database that uses the search and display capabilities of electronic texts to make distinctive features of early Greek epic accessible to readers with and without Greek. Except for fragments, it contains all the texts in the original Greek, in addition to English and German translations.

The Library of Latin Texts is a searchable full-text database of classical, patristic, medieval and neo-Latin writers. It includes:
- Literature from Antiquity (Plautus, Terence, Caesar, Cicero, Virgil, Horace, Ovid, Titius-Livius, the Senecas, the two Plinys, Tacitus and Quintilian and others).
- Literature from Patristic Authors (Ambrose, Augustine, Ausonius, Cassian, Cyprian, Gregory the Great, Jerome, Marius Victorinus, Novatian, Paulinus of Nola, Prudentius, Tertullian and others) It also contains non-Christian literature of that period (Ammianus Marcellinus, the Scriptores Historiae Augustae, Claudian, Macrobius and Martianus Cappella).
- Literature from the Middle Ages (Anselm of Canterbury, Beatus de Liebana, Bernard of Clairvaux, William of St. Thierry, Sedulius Scottus, Thomas à Kempis, Thomas de Celano, the Sentences of Peter Lombard, the Rationale of Guilelmus Durandus and important works by Abelard, Bonaventure, Ramon Llull, Thomas Aquinas, William of Ockham and others).
- Neo-Latin Literature (decrees from the modern ecumenical Church councils up to Vatican II and translations into Latin of important sixteenth-century works).

Those who are interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity and the Middle Ages know how difficult it is to identify a particular work encountered by chance in a manuscript, or, when studying or publishing a particular text, to make an inventory of all the manuscripts in which it appears. These difficulties arise primarily from the manner in which literary works circulated prior to the invention of printing. Before Gutenberg, the text had a life of its own, independent of its author, and was modified from copy to copy. It is not only the text that changed; titles might vary and authorial attributions could shift. There was a tendency to lend only to the rich, and Ovid, Saint Augustine and Saint Bernard found themselves credited with a host of apocrypha. The incipit or first words of a work thus remain the surest means of designating it unambiguously. In a sense, the incipit, by virtue of its invariability, is the identity card of the text. Standing apart from the diversity of attributions and titles, the incipit guarantees the presence of a particular text.
 

Aims at documenting the various tools that were used in the Middle Ages for the study of Aristotle, with a special emphasis on Latin translations. Includes Greco-Latin translations in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series and also in some unpublished editions in preparation.  Also includes the corpus of Latin translations of Greek commentaries and glosses on Aristotle (most of them published in the Corpus Latinum Commentariorum in Aristotelem Graecorum), texts that were closely associated with the Corpus Aristotelicum (such as the Liber sex principiorum, the Paraphrasis Themistiana or the Vita Aristotelis), and some translations from the Arabic (the Analytica Posteriora, tr. Gerardi and Averroes’Poetria, tr. Hermanni).

The Database of Latin Dictionaries is a project that has been in development for many years by the Centre ‘Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium’ (CTLO) under the direction of Paul Tombeur. At the moment, three dictionaries are searchable on the database: Albert Blaise, Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs chrétiens. Firminus Verris Dictionarius, Dictionnaire latin-français de Firmin Le Ver, ed. by B. Merrilees and W. Edwards. C. du Fresne ('du Cange'), Glossarium ad scriptores mediae et infimae latinitatis. In the coming years, more and more dictionaries will be integrated: Albert Blaise, Lexicon latinitatis medii aevi praesertim ad res ecclesiasticas investigandas pertinens / Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs du moyen-âge. Anonymus Montepessulanensis, Dictionarius / Le Glossaire latin-français du MS Montpellier H236.; Glossarium gallico-latinum / Le Glossaire français-latin du MS Paris lat. 7684, ed. by A. Grondeux, J. Monfrin and B. Merrilees (1998) Lexicon Totius Latinitatis, by Forcellini, Furlanetto, Corradini and Perin (1771- 1940) The Lewis & Short Latin Dictionary

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG®) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

One Mail instructions:

On January 16, 2025, TLG support updated all active accounts using @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses.  No further action is needed.

Brill's New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.

The section on Antiquity of Brill´s New Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.

The section on the Classical Tradition is concerned with the aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship. Many entries include maps and illustrations and the English edition will include updated bibliographic references.