Resources for English & American Literature
E-Books through IUCat for English & American Literature
This is a selection of E-books available through IUCat by publisher and genre.
Genres:
Literary Fiction and Works in Translation:
New Directions, Europa Editions, And Other Stories, Dalkey Archive, Fitzcarraldo Editions, Deep Vellum, The Russian Library (Columbia University Press), Central European University Press, Charco Press, Akashic Books, Wakefield Press, Hesperus Press, Coffee House Press, Peter Owen, Margellos World of Literature (Yale University Press), Graywolf Press, Carcanet Press, Feminist Press (CUNY), Lorenzo da Ponte Italian Library (University of Toronto Press), Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, Bellevue Literary Press, Four Way Books, Open Letter, Soft Skull Press, Counterpoint Press, Small Beer Press, New Vessel Press
Poetry
Copper Canyon Press, Red Hen Press, Autumn House Press
Plays
Oberon Books, Theatre Communications Group
Popular Non-Fiction
Arcadia Publishing, Milkweed Editions, Chicago Review Press, City Lights Books, Melville House
- IUCAT This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog.
E-Resources through IU for English & American Literature
Below are some useful databases to search for books and articles through IU. For more databases, visit the Subject Page for English & American Literature.
- Early English Books Online
This link opens in a new window
This database offers complete citation information and page images from every book published in England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and the United States between 1475-1700. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable electronic versions of every book published in Great Britain in the 18th century. - Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from all time periods in many genres. Search by author, title, genre, literary movement or literary themes. - Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
Survey of figures, schools, and movements in literary criticism. - Gale Literature Criticism
- This link opens in a new window
Online compilation of the Gale literary criticism series. - Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust. Includes the working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers.
- Victorian Manuscripts Digital CollectionThis resource is comprised of the Victorian holdings of the New York Public Library's Berg Collection.
Here is a partial list of e-resources relevant to English & American Literature that have been made available for free during COVID-19.
A full list can be found at this link.
University of Michigan Press will make all content in their ebook collection free-to-read from March 20 for the remainder of the academic term.
Project Muse has made scholarly content from certain publishers temporarily available through the Spring semester.
JSTOR has opened up temporary free access (for IUB faculty, students, and staff only) to the following through June 30, 2020.
Open Access E-Resources for English & American Literature
Here is a list of free e-resources that are always available online. These could be of use beyond COVID-19, like after graduation when you no longer have access to IU Resources. Learn more about Open Access Publishing here.
For a longer list of open access resources visit this link.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaBrings together materials from America's libraries, archives, and museums and makes it freely available.
- Early Modern Literary StudiesEarly Modern Literary Studies (EMLS) is a refereed journal serving as a formal arena for scholarly discussion and as an academic resource for researchers in the area. Articles in EMLS examine English literature, literary culture, and language during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries
- English Language and Literature StudiesEnglish Language and Literature Studies (ELLS) is an international, double-blind peer-reviewed, open-access journal. The scopes of the journal include, but are not limited to, the following topics: literature written in the English language, English linguistics, translation studies and related areas.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Shared digital library created and designed by partnership of major research libraries.
- Internet ArchiveProvides free public access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books.
- Project Gutenberg
- This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, downloadable ebooks for books out of copyright in the U.S. Project. Project Gutenberg has the goal of making information, books, and other materials available to the public in forms that are easy to read, use, quote, and search. Includes access to electronic text listings, recent releases, newsletters, articles, and other archives.
- Poetry FoundationThe Poetry Foundation is an independent literary organization established in 2003 whose purpose is to promote poetry in American culture and make it available to a wide audience. It also publishes Poetry magazine. You can explore poets by school, explore poems by themes, listen to audio poems, and more.
- Poets.orgYou can search an extensive collection of over 7,000 poems by theme, occasion or form, or search by keyword or poet's name. You can find poetry lesson plans most of which are aligned with the Common Core, essays about teaching, a glossary of poetry terms, and more.
- Digital Theatre PlusResource for English, Drama and the Performing Arts. Includes streaming video of plays and productions, theory and criticism, and resources for practice and practitioners.