Librarian
E-Resources for Art, Architecture & Design
E-Resources through IU for Art, Architecture & Design
A full list of resources is available on the following subject pages:
Temporary Free Textbooks
RedShelf is temporarily offering free electronic textbooks to students. Sign up using your institutional email. The e-books can be borrowed until May 25. The following texts are a sample of what’s available:
- Stokstad’s Art: A Brief History
- Gardner’s Art Through the Ages
- Practices of Looking
- Culture of Design
- Art History: The Basics
- Ways of Seeing
VitalSource is also temporarily offering free electronic textbooks to students. Sign up using your institutional email. The e-books can be borrowed until May 25. Sample books include:
- Stokstad’s Art: A Brief History
- Contemporary Art
- Janson’s History of Art
- Medieval Art
- What is “Islamic Art”?
- Women Artists
Open Access Resources
- Digital Public Library of AmericaPrimary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
- Europeana
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 50 million digitized items from European archives, libraries, and museums.
- Paris MuséesIn January 2020, 14 museums in Paris made over 100,000 images openly accessible in their online collections. The open content images are available via their online collections, or their API.
- The Google Art ProjectExplore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaPrimary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture developed by educators — complete with teaching guides for class use.
- Europeana
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 50 million digitized items from European archives, libraries, and museums.
- Directory of Open Access Books: Arts and ArchichitectureThe primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
- HathiTrustA digital library of over 9 million books, with 3 million in the public domain. NOTE: HathiTrust is offering temporary full-view access to affiliates of partner institutions for a large number of copyrighted works that would be otherwise inaccessible due to the disruptions caused by COVID-19. Filter for "full-view texts" in order to see books that are public domain and those that have been temporarily made available.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaBrowse and directly download any of the more than 6,300 ebook titles available on DPLA’s Open Bookshelf. Choose from classic novels, children’s books, textbooks and non-English titles.
- Europeana
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 50 million digitized items from European archives, libraries, and museums.