American Literary and Drama Reviews: An Index to Late 19th Century Periodicals
Print
Coverage: 1880-1900
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
If you wish to limit your search to book reviews, use Limit to: Reviews
Search
About Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Cambridge bibliography of English literature. Vol. 4: 1800 -1900. 3rd ed. Cambridge; NY: Cambridge University Press, 1999.
Print
Often includes a selection of contemporary book reviews for major authors
Coverage: 1800-1900
Fiction Core Collection
If you wish to limit your search to book reviews, use Advanced Search and select Publication type: Review
Search
About Fiction Core Collection
Godey's Lady's Book
If you wish to limit your search to book reviews, you can find many reviews with the search term: "literary notices"
Search
About Godey's Lady's Book
A guide to critical reviews of United States fiction, 1870- 1910
Print
Coverage: 1870-1910
Index to Book Reviews in England, 1749-1774
Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775-1800
Print
Coverage: 1749-1800
The literary and historical index to American magazines, 1800- 1850
The literary index to American magazines, 1850-1900
Print
Book reviews are listed under the author's name and preceded by rev
Coverage 1800-1900
Literary reviews in British periodicals, 1789-1797 : a bibliography : with a supplementary list of general (non-review) articles on literary subjects
Literary reviews in British periodicals, 1798-1820; a bibliography with a supplementary list of general (non-review) articles on literary subjects
Literary reviews in British periodicals, 1821-1826 : a bibliography with a supplementary list of general (non-review) articles on literary subjects
Print
Coverage 1789-1826
Literary writings in America: a bibliography (1850-1940)
Print
The volumes are a printed card file (about 250,000 cards) resulting from a WPA project attempting to list all U.S. creative literature, including books and periodical articles, published 1850-1940. Not always complete or accurate but a valuable source especially for little-known writers. Book reviews are listed by authors of books and by names of reviewers. 8 v.
Coverage: 1850-1940
Making of America (MoA)
Use "Other Searches" in MoA
Use Boolean and search in Works or Articles
Try search terms review and in the next box author name (Henry James, say; using double quotes does not seem to make a difference
Search
Coverage: 1830-1902
The New Moulton's library of literary criticism
Print
v. 1. Medieval-early Renaissance -- v. 2. William Shakespeare --v. 3. Elizabethan-Caroline -- v. 4. Restoration-early Georgian -- v. 5. Georgian -- v. 6. Late Georgian-Romantic -- v. 7. Early Victorian -- v. 8. Mid-Victorian -- v. 9. Late Victorian -- v. 10. Late Victorian-Edwardian -- v. 11. Biographical supplement and index.
Coverage: Medieval Period to 1904
The Romantics Reviewed; Contemporary Reviews of British Romantic Writers
Print
Coverage: Mid-1700s to the mid-1800s>
Science Fiction Book Review Index, 1923-1973
Science Fiction Book Review Index, 1974-1979
Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Review Index, 1980-1984
Print
Coverage: 1923-1984
Twentieth century British literature; a reference guide and bibliography
Print
Mostly scholarly criticism and also some reviews of twentieth-century authors from Britain and its former colonies
Coverage: 1900-1980s
Victorian Studies Bibliography
If you wish to limit your search to book reviews, use terms "book review"; "review essay"
Search
About Victorian Studies Bibliography
The Wellesley index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900
Print
Also available in C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online 1971- 2002
If you wish to limit your search to book reviews, search keywords with terms "book review" or "review article" or "review essay"
Search
or search without using the terms "book review" or "review article" or "review essay"
Titles have a standard "Reviews" section listing a variety of reviews with bibliographic information.
About World Shakespeare Bibliography