Citations provide credit to the original authors of the information sources you use in a paper or assignment. Whenever you refer to someone else's work or ideas, whether it's a text-based source, image, presentation, or other material, you must provide a citation.
Citing sources involves two parts:
Parenthetical citations - The citation information is written in parentheses directly after the quoted or paraphrased materials.
Footnotes or endnotes - A number in superscript appears after the quoted or paraphrased material and directs readers to the citation information located at the end of the page (footnotes) or at the end of the document (endnotes).
APA is often used in the social sciences disciplines and requires the use of parenthetical citations.
Use the following style guides to learn how to format citations in APA:
IU Libraries' APA Quick Style Guide - This provides a brief overview of how to cite some of the most common types of sources.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) APA Style Guide - This guide provides more in-depth information on APA citations, as well as how to properly format other parts of your paper (the title page, appendices, etc.).
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - This is the official APA manual, which provides the most comprehensive overview of APA style. If you can't find the information you need in one of the above sources, look here.
Location: Wells Library, Undergraduate Core Collection - Call Number BF76.7 .P83 2010
MLA format is often used in humanities disciplines. It involves the use of parenthetical citations.
Use the following style guides to learn how to format citations in MLA:
IU Libraries MLA Quick Style Guide - This provides a short overview of how to cite some of the most common research sources.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) MLA Style Guide - This guide includes more in-depth help on how to cite sources in MLA style, as well as how to properly format other parts of your paper (the title page, appendices, etc.).
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers - The official publication manual for MLA style. If you can't find the answer to your citation question in one of the above style guides, check here.
Location: Wells Library, Undergraduate Core Collection - Call Number LB2369 .G53 2009
Chicago format is most often used in history and a few other humanities disciplines. Chicago style can use either parenthetical citations or footnotes or endnotes.
Use the following style guides to learn how to format citations in Chicago style:
IU Libraries Chicago Style Quick Guide - This provides a short overview of how to cite some of the most common research sources.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Chicago Style Guide - This includes more in-depth help on how to cite sources in Chicago style, as well as how to properly format other parts of your paper (the title page, appendices, etc.).
Chicago Manual of Style Online - The official publication manual for Chicago style. If you can't find the answer to your citation question in one of the above style guides, check here.