Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Major U.S. Newspapers: Resource Guide

Major U.S. Newspapers

More News

60 minutes, 1997-2014
This online collection provides 350 hours of video from 17 years of broadcasts. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning

Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.

Access World News
Includes complete electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide. Provides more than 150 million current and archived articles users can search, browse, print and email. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time.

AltPressIndex
Database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and leftist periodicals.

Alt-Press Watch
Alt-PressWatch is a full text database of alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals that present viewpoints that differ from mainstream media coverage of issues and events.

AltPressIndexArchive
The Archive contains newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from international, alternative sources that promote social change.

Business Source Premier
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications (includes over 2,300 titles full text).

Education Week
Education Week is a collocation of news materials on education in the United States, including articles from Education week and Teacher magazine AP newswire stories, blogs, white papers, etc.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America; full text and searchable in English and Spanish

Factiva
General news and business information sources from international newswires and pictures, TV and radio transcripts,local newspapers, company reports, and media programs.

Herald Times Online
Bloomington, Indiana newspaper. AVAILABLE ONLY FROM WORKSTATIONS IN THE WELLS LIBRARY ON THE BLOOMINGTON CAMPUS.

Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a series of digital collections of the alternative press that are complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from these widely scattered special collections of leading academic libraries.

Informe Academico
Indexing, full-text and images of Spanish-language magazines and pamphlets.

Keesing's Online
Keesing's Online is an authoritative monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs.

McClatchy-Tribune Collection
Includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service

Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in six major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995.

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni Includes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

Newspaper Source Plus
Full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes newspapers, newswires and news magazines, as well as television and radio news transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Newswires
Provides access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Old News: Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
Find News from the Past
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
A database of historical twentieth century newspapers.

Readers Guide Full Text Mega
A database of articles from popular U.S. and Canadian periodicals on current events, news, popular culture and many other topics Coverage: Index and abstracts from 1983 to present; full text from 1994 to present

Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full text coverage of 75 regional business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

SA Media
Full text access to mainstream South African news publications, from 1978 to present day. Additional Information: Includes 4.5 million articles. An average of 2500 new articles are added weekly.

Television News Archive Indexes
PLEASE NOTE: This resource requires RealPlayer for content viewing. Indiana University Libraries' workstations do not have access to RealPlayer. A personal device may be required for viewing. Indexes evening broadcasts from ABC, ABC Nightline, CBS, CNN, NBC and PBS. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. Coverage: 1968-present

Universal databases
Full-text database of leading Russian and English newspapers published since 1997 in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union.

Universal Database of Russian Newspapers
UDB-Central newspapers. Provides online access to over 800,000 articles from the Russian press in both English and Russian

Universal Database of Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine
The Universal Database of newspapers from the Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Ukraine, Moldova and Belarus includes important periodicals published in these newly independent states which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian, they cover various issues of domestic and international importance

Universal Database of Central Asia and the Caucasus
The Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) includes a number of periodicals published in the Newly Independent States of the former Soviet Union. The sources are mostly in Russian and English and cover various issues of domestic and international importance

Universal Database of Russian Newspapers
Provides online access to over 800,000 articles from the Russian press in both English and Russian More info about Universal Database of Russian Newspapers

US Newsstream
Provides access to current and archived news content. Includes newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format; also includes a collection of local and regional newspapers, cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

World News Connection
World News Connection is translated news from overseas sources. WNC contains materials provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted.

World News Digest
Online version of Facts On File, a resource which provides summaries of domestic and international news.

Za Vozvrashchenie na Rodinu Digital Archive
Access to all issues of the newspaper Za vozvrashchenie na Rodinu (Return to Motherland) from its very first issue in April of 1955 to 1960.