Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Flu Vaccination Data and News
- Influenza (Flu) | CDCClearinghouse of information about the nature and prevalence of influenza in the U.S., including maps and a flu vaccine finder.
- National Institute of Health: National Institute of Allergy and Infectious DiseaseClearinghouse of information related to influenza and vaccines from National Institute of Health, an agency of the U.S. government.
- Indiana Department of Health's Influenza PageStatistics, procedures and existing programs for influenza within Indiana. Other states have similar pages. To find them, Google influenza site:.gov
You can search all three of the databases below at the same time by choosing any one of them and clicking the "Choose Databases" link above the search box and selecting the others from the popup window that appears. Click OK and then search as usual.
Search phrases like these will help you locate research on PR campaigns and public attitudes about flu vaccines:
(flu or influenza) and (vaccin* or immunization) and outreach
(flu or influenza) and (vaccin* or immunization) and (advertising or "public relations")
(flu or influenza) and (vaccin* or immunization) and (perception or opinion or attitude)
(flu or influenza) and (vaccin* or immunization) and campaign
Be sure to look past the first page of search results. Databases don't know what you're trying to do, so when they say they've sorted things by relevance, don't believe them; the best things are probably not on the first page.
- CINAHL Complete
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. Build a search phrase by selecting "CINAHL Subject Headings" in the upper left of the search page. This phrase retrieves articles about the economic impact, consumption and supply/distribution of the flu vaccine: (MH "Influenza Vaccine/EI/EC/SD") - MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A the primary source of world-wide literature on biomedicine and health care. Use the "MeSH 2020" to discover subject terms to build phrases such as the following, which retrieve articles about the economics and supply of flu vaccines: (MH "Influenza Vaccines/SD/EC") - Global Health
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields.
Health Marketing Resources
- Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. In the search box, type "vaccination" to discover reports addressing that topic. See also "Marketing to Moms," "Marketing to Young Families," and "Marketing to Baby Boomers" for to discover more consumer behavior and trends.
- National Influenza Vaccination Week (CDC)Public relations campaign from the CDC to raise awareness of the importance of flu vaccinations.
- Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts. Be sure to investigate the dossier entitled "Influenza in the U.S.," which is a collection of critical statistics reflecting consumer behavior, demographics, and prevalence related to the flu. - SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. This is a helpful tool with which to determine ideal geographic regions and conditions in which to implement a particular marketing strategy.