ARTH A341 Nineteenth Century European Art

Experiment with keywords and related terms relevant to your topic. (Remember databases generally include more formal language.)

A concept map like this one can help in generating search terms, but you don't need to limit this exercise to hierarchies like this one depicted. The UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center's page on concept maps gives other types of examples.  

Concept maps can be quickly sketched out on pen and paper, or you can use digital tools to assist. This one was quickly made in Word through text boxes. Below are some other tools to try out as well.

• Adobe Express (log in with your iu.edu email for free access)
• Canva
• Figma (free limited account available)
• Miro (Apply for a free student account with your iu.edu email)

These are all similar services with different pros and cons. Find a way to mind map that works for you and stick with that!

A keyword expresses a central concept or idea about a topic. When you search Google, you are keyword searching. 

When searching library resources like databases, be more selective with keywords. Begin with a small number of terms, and avoid long phrases.

Identifying Keywords

1. Major concepts

Identify major concepts of your topic.

Example topic: the environmental consequences of fracking

2. Related terms

Develop keywords related to the major concepts of your topic.

Example:

Note: Databases can be picky about search terms. Identify synonyms for your concepts, and consider the words likely used in the database. 

3. Background research

To identify useful keywords, do some quick background research. Note terms that are often used to discuss the topic. 

(Reference sources like Wikipedia or the library databases Encyclopaedia Britannica and Credo Reference offer overviews of many topics. Of course, remember to evaluate information in Wikipedia with particular care.)

4. Database search results

Do a quick database search and view the search results page to identify relevant terms.

• Titles and article abstracts (summaries) may include helpful terms. 
• “subject” terms to describe their records. Subject terms can help you locate more records on that topic.  They also give an overview of how others have approached the topic. 

Effective Keyword Searching

1. Be concise

Begin with only 2-3 terms, and avoid long phrases. The more terms you enter the fewer results you’ll get.

2. Use synonyms and related terms

If your first term doesn’t work, try a synonym. You may have to try out several related search terms to find the types of resources you're looking for.  

(Example: environment INSTEAD OF environmental consequences)