Primary Source Databases
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Digital archive of historical newspapers. Each issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images.
- African American Newspapers (Legacy)
This collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history, with first-hand reports of major events and issues of the day. Includes complete text of articles published in the United States.
- NewspaperARCHIVE
Digital access to more than 1000 historical newspapers from communities within Indiana.
- Newspapers.com World Collection
Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles in addition to small local newspapers.
- Google Newspaper ArchiveGoogle News Archive is an extension of Google News providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid. Some of the news archives date back to 18th century. There is a timeline view available, to select news from various years.
- ArchiveGrid
Provides access to online findings aids, detailed collection guides or inventories describing where to find an archival collection, how it's arranged, and what it contains.
- Archive of Americana
Historic American publications, books, broadsides, ephemera, newspapers, dating from as early as 1535 through the 20th Century.
- Wiley Digital Archives
Provides access to historical primary sources, digitized from leading societies, libraries, and archives around the world. Includes access to the archives of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (RAI), the New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS), Royal Geographical Society, 1478-1953 (RGS) ; The Royal College of Physicians (RCP).
- ProQuest History Vault
Archival collections documenting topics in eighteenth- through twentieth-century American history. Provides access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
- The British MuseumThe free digital image service is managed by usage rather than user. The British Museum offers non-exclusive licenses to use the selected material free of charge.
- The Victoria and Albert MuseumFree high resolution image download is determined by usage rather than user. A non-exclusive license is granted to use the selected material free of charge.
- The Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Image LibraryA growing body of high resolution images (between 10–40 MB) from LACMA's collection which are believed to be in the public domain—available without restriction, free of charge.
- National Gallery, LondonAs part of its on-going commitment to support scholarship and encourage research into the nation’s collection of Old Master paintings, the National Gallery, London is pleased to be able to waive image reproduction charges for scholarly publications including academic books and journals, student theses and academic presentations or lectures.
- National Gallery of Art (Washington, DC)Through NGA Images, the National Gallery of Art implements an open access policy for digital images of works of art that the Gallery believes to be in the public domain. Images of these works are now available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial.
- The Walters Art MuseumImages of objects from the Walters' collections are available under the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.
- Yale University Art MuseumsProvides license- and royalty free access to digital images of public domain materials in all Yale collections. Open Access materials may be used by anyone for any purpose. This is not restricted to scholarly uses only.
- The GettyThe Open Content Program makes available (without charge) any content to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain. No permission required.
- The Metropolitan Museum of ArtProvides images at no cost to scholars via ARTstor's existing infrastructure, through the Images for Academic Publishing (IAP) program.
- Architectural Drawings at the National ArchivesUse this guide for an overview of The National Archives’ collection of architectural drawings and related records and for advice on how to find them among our vast holdings.
- Bloomsbury Architecture LibraryTo find architectural drawings, do a search for something you're interested in. Then, navigate to the image browse page (under the Browse tab, select ‘Images & Museum Objects). You can now filter down to the type of image e.g. Orthographic drawing. It’s the last filter in the "Refine Results" section on the left-hand side.
- Consolidated File of Architectural Drawings of Public Buildings, 1853 - 1974This series consists of manuscript, tracing, blueprint, and lithographic print architectural drawings pertaining to the design, construction, repair, and alteration of Federal buildings throughout the United States.
- Digital Resources from The Society of Architectural HistoriansScroll down to see a list of archives across the US and Canada, which hold architects papers or plans.