Librarian
The Library
Soviet Central Asia in the Library
The library’s collection for Soviet Central Asia is extensive.
It is located on the 6th floor of the Wells Library east wing, ALF (Auxiliary Library Facilities, aka. remote storage), and online.
The library has a dedicated subject librarian for Central Asian studies, Dr. Akram Habibulla (akkhabib@indiana.edu; Wells E960; 812-855-9885).
The librarian for Slavic and East European studies is Wookjin Cheun (wcheun@indiana.edu ; Wells E560; 812-855-9413).
Library of Congress call number ranges for History of Central Asia:
DK845-860 Soviet Central Asia. West Turkestan
DK901-909.5 Kazakhstan. Kazakh S.S.R.
DK909.2-909.39 Alma Ata
DK911-919.5 Kyrgyzstan. Kirghiz S.S.R. Kirghizia
DK919.2-919.39 Frunze
DK921-929.5 Tajikistan. Tajik S.S.R. Tadzhikistan
DK929.2-929.39 Dushanbe
DK931-939.5 Turkmenistan. Turkmen S.S.R. Turkmenia
DK939.2-939.39 Ashkhabad
DK941-949.5 Uzbekistan. Uzbek S.S.R.
DK949.2-949.39 Tashkent
How to Find Books in the Library?
Use IUCAT or OneSearch@IU
Try "Subject Headings" when searching. Some of the useful "Subject Headings" include:
Personal names
Historical events ("Collectivization of agriculture"; Sedentarization; Famines)
How to Find Journal Articles?
English-language Articles
Academic search
JSTOR
Russian-language Articles
Universal database of Russian social sciences and humanities
Primary Sources
- Soviet Woman Digital Archive
This link opens in a new window
Published initially under the aegis of the of Soviet Women’s Anti-Fascist Committee and the Central Council of Trade Unions of the USSR, in the aftermath of the WWII in 1945, the Soviet Woman magazine began as a bimonthly illustrated magazine tasked with countering anti-Soviet propaganda. The magazine introduced Western audiences to the lifestyle of Soviet women, their role in the post-WWII rebuilding of the Soviet economy, and praised their achievements in the arts and the sciences.
- Seventeen Moments in Soviet History: An Online Archive of Primary SourcesA thematically driven, chronological account of Soviet history through primary sources (texts, images, videos) as well as explanatory essays.
- Stalin Digital Archive
- This link opens in a new window
The Stalin Digital Archive is a result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press (YUP) to create an electronic database of finding aids, to digitize documents and images, and to publish in different forms and media materials from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of RGASPI.
- Elektronnaia biblioteka istoricheskikh dokumentov"... Задачей проекта является создание Электронной библиотеки исторических документов, в которой исследователи в открытом доступе смогут найти, в перспективе, все исторические документы, опубликованные в России с 1991 года ..."
- Istoricheskie materialy"«Исторические материалы» рождены слиянием сайтов Утерянная Империя и Мифы истории СССР, Vive Liberta, ЯООФ "Сталинский" с целью объединения историков и энтузиастов в сети в одно целое. Проект посвящен истории нашей страны и истории демократических, освободительных и революционных движений в мире."
Citation Styles
For more information on citation styles visit "Help With Writing Sources" on the library website.
Reference Sources
Sibirskaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia (1929-1932?) [an extensive article on Kazakh ASSR]
Bolʹshaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia (1926-1947; 1949-1958; 1970-1981)
Sovetskaia istoricheskaia entsiklopediia (1961-1976) [16 vols.]
Rossiiskaia istoricheskaia entsiklopediia (2015- )
Dictionaries
Historical dictionary of Kazakhstan (2012)
Historical dictionary of Tajikistan (2018)
Aggregators (or Reference Suites)
Oxford Reference Online
Gale Virtual Reference Online
Other
Europa World Plus
Indices
Memoirs and Diaries
Istoriia sovetskogo obshchestva v vospominaniiakh sovremennikov, 1917-1957: Annotirovannyi ukazatel' memuarnoi literatury. (1958-1967)
Sovetskoe obshchestvo v vospominaniiakh i dnevnikakh: Annotirovannyi bibliograficheskii ukazatel’ knig, publikatsii v sbornikakh i zhurnalakh. (1987-2017) [useful volume-by-volume info at GPIB (Gos. Publichnaia Istoricheskaia Biblioteka Rossii)]
Rossiia i rossiiskaia emigratsiia v vospominaniiakh i dnevnikakh: Annotirovannyi ukazatel’ knig, zhurnal’nykh i gazetnykh publikatsii, izdannykh za rubezhom v 1917-1991 gg. v 4-kh tomakh. (2003-2006)
Serials
Periodicheskaia pechat’ SSSR, 1917-1949: Bibliograficheskii ukazatel’. (1955-1963)
Gazety SSSR 1917-1960: Bibliograficheskii spravochnik. (1970-1984)
Half a century of Soviet serials, 1917-1968: A bibliography and union list of serials published in the USSR. (1968)
Published Documents
Otkrytyi arkhiv (1999-2013)
Prominent Journals
- Ab imperio
"... an international humanities and social sciences peer-reviewed journal dedicated to studies in new imperial history and the interdisciplinary and comparative study of nationalism and nationalities in the post-Soviet space." ISSN: 2164-9731, 2166-4072 - Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History
"... journal of Russian and Eurasian history and culture, Kritika is dedicated to internationalizing the field and making it relevant to a broad interdisciplinary audience. The journal regularly publishes forums, discussions, and special issues." - Slavic Review
" ... an international interdisciplinary journal devoted to the study of eastern Europe, Russia, the Caucasus, and Central Asia, past and present. The journal publishes articles of original and significant research and interpretation, reviews of scholarly books and films, and topical review essays and discussion forums." - Slavonic and East European Review
" ... the journal of the School of Slavonic and East European Studies, University College London, is published by the Modern Humanities Research Association and UCL SSEES. Each volume consists of four issues, published in January, April, July, and October of each year." - Вопросы истории
"Советский и российский академический научный журнал в области истории. Выходит ежемесячно. Учредители: редакция журнала и Российская академия наук. - Исторический Архив
"Публикация впервые вводимых в научный оборот архивных документов и материалов по отечественной и всеобщей истории, историографии, источниковедению, документалистике, зарубежной архивной россике." - Отечественные архивы
" ... публикуются:нормативные акты (или информация о них), регламентирующие деятельность российских архивов; ...
документы из архивов России и зарубежных стран, отражающие события отечественной истории."