Dissecting an Article Citation
Identifies different parts of a citation from a database.
From Yavapai College Library.
The Trouble with JSTOR
Those who rely on JSTOR to research their papers may be missing out. For instance, JSTOR has less than 350 history journals, whereas America History and Life covers 1,700 journals and Historical Abstracts covers another 2,300. The IULink widget in any subject database will link you to the full text in JSTOR or any of the other full-text resources we own.
Finding Articles
There are countless databases dedicated to helping researchers find articles on any topic under the sun. Most of them have added features that you won't find in Google Scholar, such as controlled subject headings, filtering, and the ability to capture multiple citations at once. These databases are not free, so they are not accessible to Google's robot searchers. The IU Libraries provides them exclusively to IU staff, students, and faculty. make the most of them!
The box below lists several subject databases for finding secondary literature in history. Choose the one that matches your topic and period.
Secondary Source Databases in History
- America: History & Life
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada, indexing more than 1,800 journals published, dissertations and reviews. - Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, chapters and theses about world history, 1450 to present. - International Medieval Bibliography
- This link opens in a new window
The IMB indexes articles in journals, conference proceedings, collections of essays and Festschriften. Indexing includes materials worldwide in a variety of languages. - Année Philologique
- This link opens in a new window
Covers classical languages and literatures, ancient authors, Greek and Latin. Includes brief abstracts of articles. - Bibliography of British and Irish History
- This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present.
