What is Visual Anthropology?
Visual Anthropology encompasses both the production and analysis of media.
Search Terms/Subjects
Those interested in visual anthropology may find the following subject headings useful in searching IUCAT:
- Visual anthropology
- Visual sociology
- Motion pictures
- Motion pictures in ethnology
- Ethnographic films
- Documentary films
- Social sciences - Film catalogs
- Ethnology - Film catalogs
- Feminist anthropology
- Photography in anthropology
- Photography in ethnology
- Graphic arts
- Art and anthropology
- Visual communication
Databases for Visual Anthropology
- Anthropology Plus
Index of journal articles in anthropology and related fields. The primary index for research in anthropology, it includes articles, reports, edited works, and obituaries in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, as well as in ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
- AnthroSource
Current issues of American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins as well as archived, full-text issues of all the AAA's journals, newsletters and bulletins.
- Ethnographic Video Online
Access to classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage from anthropologists and ethnographers working in the field, and some feature films. Includes searchable transcripts.
- VADS: Visual Arts Data Service
An online collection of more than 140,000 images of rare and unique library, museum, and archives collections across the United Kingdom.
- Films on Demand Master Academic Collection
Streaming educational video. Covers a wide range of curricular subjects, including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more.
- Filmakers Library Online
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
- IU Media Collections OnlineMedia Collections Online houses audio and video collections.
Journals
- Visual Anthropology Review"Visual Anthropology Review promotes the discussion of visual studies, broadly conceived. Within its breadth, visual anthropology includes both the study of visual aspects of human of cultural lives and experience and the use of visual techniques and technologies in anthropological research, representation and teaching. The journal highlights innovative forms of ethnographic production and anthropological practice that explore the potentialities of sensory scholarship."
- AnthroVision"AnthroVision is an electronic online journal dealing with visual anthropology and the anthropology of the visual in an emerging post-digital world characterised a diverse and constant influence of audio-visual forms of representation embedded in an increasingly complex network of media and visual communication practices. A group of interested scholars linked through the Visual Anthropology Network of the European Association of Social Anthropologists (VANEASA) decided to create this platformto give an opportunity to colleagues from interdisciplinary background to publish articles including audiovisual material and to promote innovative ways of writing within an academic framework."
Additional Resources
- Society for Visual AnthropologyWebsite of the Society for Visual Anthropology.