BUKD X520 AGILE: Greece
Instructor:Kolovou
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Past Olympic Venues Today
- Over 125 years of Olympic venues: post-Games usethe first-ever official inventory of the post-Games use of 817 permanent and 106 temporary Olympic venues across 51 Games editions, from the Olympic Games Athens 1896 through to the Olympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018. The accompanying Executive Summary highlights the key conclusions of the research, while connecting the past with the future. It shows that, of the 817 permanent venues, some 85 per cent are still in use, a proportion that rises to 92 per cent for the 206 permanent venues used in the 21st century. Downloaded from this site.
- OAKALocated in the area of Marousi in Athens, the stadium was originally designed in 1980 and completed in time to host the 1982 European Championships in Athletics. It also hosted several events of the 1991 Mediterranean Games and the 1997 World Championships in Athletics, before being extensively renovated in time for the 2004 Summer Olympics and the 2004 Summer Paralympics, including a roof designed by Santiago Calatrava.
- Lake Placid Olympic LegacyOriginally constructed for the 1932 Winter Olympics, and further built upon for the 1980 Winter Olympics, the Lake Placid Legacy Sites have since evolved into 4 distinct locations: Olympic Center, Olympic Jumping Complex, Mt. Van Hoevenberg, and Whiteface Mountain.
- Centennial Olympic ParkThe crown jewel of Atlanta’s downtown entertainment district and a year-round destination for locals and visitors alike
- Utah Olympic ParkThe Utah Olympic Legacy Foundation is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that celebrates the spirit of the Salt Lake 2002 Olympic Winter Games to inspire active, healthy lifestyles and increase community uses of Utah’s Olympic venues. See their strategic plan.
Understanding Greece and Tourism in Greece
- MarketLine AdvantageTo understand Greece, broadly:
see the In-Depth PESTLE Insights report for Greece.
To understand tourism in Greece
see the report on Greece - Travel and Tourism. - Business Source CompleteTo understand Greece, broadly:
enter Greece in the search box and select Country Report under publication type below the search box before hitting the search button to find a variety of reports.
To understand tourism in Greece:
Search Greece and touris* to find information on various aspects of tourism. (Be sure to remove the country reports filter if you did the search above first.) - Passport GMID: Global Market Information DatabaseTo understand Greece, broadly:
see the report on Economy Finance and Trade: Greece , and
PEST Analysis: Greece.
To understand tourism in Greece
see the report on Tourism Flows in Greece.
See also Arts and Festivals: Balancing the Trade-off between Importing a Global Cultural Brand and Authenticity.
Understanding Consumers and Marketing
- Mintel ReportsFor understanding the US Consumer as a potential market for OAKA, consider reports such as Vacation Plans and Priorities and Wellness Travel, as well as reports on marketing to various segments of the US population. See this video for a tutorial on this database.
- SMA: Sports Market AnalyticsMarket research from the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from various magazines.
- StatistaConsolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
- Simmons InsightsData on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits
News and Articles
- Business Source CompleteRegional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- EBSCO Management CollectionFull text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
- Proquest BusinessAllows users to search across six ProQuest business databases: ABI/INFORM Complete, EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal, and The Women's Wear Daily Archive.
- Hospitality and Tourism CompleteResource for information covering all areas of hospitality and tourism. Includes periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
- Nexis UniIncludes articles from local, regional, national and international newspapers, magazines, online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, transcripts, and legal research, as well as federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.
- Access World NewsIncludes electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide.
Article Search
ABI/INFORM, Business Source Complete and EBSCO Management are examples of literature databases. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Use the tips on the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.
| For this concept | Start with words like |
| consumer beliefs and habits | ("consumer attitudes" or "consumer opinion" or "consumer behavior") |
| sustainability | (sustainab* or green or eco*) |
| Olympic venues | ("Olympic venue" or "Olympic park") |
| tourism | (touris* or travel or vacation) |
| marketing | (marketing or advertising) |
| strategies | (strateg* or "best practice" or trend) |
| company ethics | (ethic* or CSR or "corporate social responsibility") |
Examples:
("olympic venue" or "olympic park") and (marketing or advertising)
("consumer attitudes" or "consumer opinion" or "consumer behavior") AND "sport tourism"
Note: Not every combination of search terms will be useful, and these suggestions and examples are not exhaustive: You will need to come up with additional terms for other ideas you are interested in researching.
Doing multiple searches and looking at several pages of results is the key to success.