Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Inclusive Teaching Resources (Visual materials and transformative pedagogies)

This guide is a collection of inclusive image collections that I have found from a variety of sources. I'm expecting that this will be a guide that changes over time as I find more resources. This guide also contains a transformative pedagogy literature r

About this Page

The resources on this page provide diverse and inclusive visual materials relating to disciplines in the arts. If you have any questions about the resources listed on this page or any resource suggestions, please feel free to email me at jkflemin@iu.edu.

image of a painting, image of fabric, image of sculpture

Image Citations with Captions (left to right):

The Bathers by: Amy Sherald (2015)

Citation: 

"By Amy Sherald #art #artist #painting" by placerdiarto is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0.

Caption:

You can see more work by Amy Sherald and similar artists on the Black Contemporary Art resource.

Sarape from the Knoxville Museum of Art

Citation:

"Late classical striped sarape; warp; handspun wool-white, wefft: handspun wool-white, indigo-blue dyed; raveled bayeta- crimson dyed with cochineal and lac; 72.5' x 49'; Navajo; 1860-70" By: Knoxville Museum of Art is licensed under CC BY-NC-2.0.

Caption:

You can learn more about the tradition of the sarape and other fibers and materials in the Fashion and Race Database.

Gamin By Augusta Savage (1929)

Citation:

Savage, A. (1929). Gamin [painted plaster, sculpture]. Smithsonian American Art Museum. https://americanart.si.edu/education/oh-freedom/augusta-savage.

Caption:

You can learn more about Augusta Savage and similar artist on the Oh Freedom! Teaching Art and Civil Rights Movement resource.

Studio Art

 

 

  • George Floyd & Anti-Racist Street Art Database- This resource documents the anti-racist street art that was created around the world in the aftermath of the murder of George Floyd.
  • ICAA Documents Projects/Documents of Latin American Art- This resource contains over 8,000 documents of 20th and 21st century Latin American and Latino Art.
  • Black Artists and Modernism- This database is the result of a three-year collaboration between Middlesex University and the University of Arts London. The goal of this resource is to address the understated connections between Black-British artists' practice and the work of art's relationship to modernism. This is done through close readings of works of art, artist dossiers, interviews, study days, public symposia, and a database of works of art in the public collections across the UK.
  • Black Contemporary Art- This resource was created in 2011 and lists artwork by and about people of African descent. 
  • Mina Loy: Navigating the Avant-Garde- This resource is dedicated to the life and artistic work of Mina Loy as well as, her contribution to the Avant-Garde movement.
  • The Digital Museum of Shadow- This resource displays the shadow puppets collected by the Folk Art Museum of China Academy of Art. The website displays the shadow puppets as pieces of cultural heritage. 
  • Teaching Modern and Contemporary Asian Art- This resource is from the Guggenheim Museum and is targeted at teachers and students. The database lists 27 artists from East and Southeast Asia who also have work in the Guggenheim. The goal is to teach both professors and students about more diverse artists who are not in the traditional art canon.
  • Canadian Women Artists History Initiative- This resource was created due to a lack of information about historical women's art in Canada. The resource offers information such as an artist database and documentation center.
  • East Asian Scroll Paintings- The East Asian Scroll Paintings is a resource that was created by the University of Chicago Center for East Asia. Due to the fragility of scroll paintings, they are rarely viewed in person. This website digitally shares scroll paintings from East Asian through the collaboration of a variety of art museums.
  • Women Who Draw- This is a resource that was created by two women artists to collect the names of female illustrators, with an emphasis on diverse female illustrators.
  • Oh Freedom! Teaching Art and the Civil Rights Movement: This resource is made to assist educators in the instruction of the Civil Rights movement. The resource includes more than three dozen artworks from the Smithsonian American Art Museum and the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture.

The Fashion and Race Database- This resource was created in 2017 with the goal of expanding the narrative of fashion history and challenging mis-representation within the fashion industry.