THTR T370 History of Theatre I

Use this database for locating production reviews. Remember, this is a broad interdisciplinary resource, so it may not be useful for every play the class is reading. Use the Advanced Search, and look for the title of the play and add the word "review." Look carefully to make sure you are getting a play review instead of a film review.

Searchable electronic versions of every book published in Great Britain in the 18th century.

Full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.

The MLA Bibliography indexes material in modern languages, literature, linguistics and folklore.

Newspaper Source indexes more recent content, starting in the early 1990s. It includes over 10,000 play reviews.

This is a fun database, and everyone should use it! It would be a good idea to start here. IIPA is a full text resource devoted to the performing arts. I suggest starting by searching for the play title and the author. from the list of articles you retrieve, you can scroll down the page to set limits to narrow the results. Beneath the publication date limit option, you should see the option to limit by document type--choose theatre review. If there are enough theatre reviews, you will have the option to limit to positive or negative.

This is a collection of academic journals. The content will be scholarly. Use this collection if you want academic articles about the history of a play or critical interpretations of a play.

Newspapers are an excellent place to find play reviews. This collection includes 17 US newspapers from their start through into the 20th century and beyond. For more specific details, go to the database and scroll down until the newspaper titles that will already be selected. To search, click "use selected databases" at the top of the page. Search for your play by title. Limit by date if the results are overwhelming. The New York Times is included in this database.

IUCAT is the online catalog for the libraries. Use it to see what we have.