A digital image library of over 2.5 million digital images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. PLEASE NOTE: to save or download images, users must register for an individual account.
Users who create an account also gain access to a set of tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images.
Resource for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library consists of two separate collections: the Core Collection and Architecture Design & Practice Online.
The Bloomsbury Architecture Library Core Collection offers a collection of resources to exploring 5,500 years of the world’s architecture through Sir Banister Fletcher’s Global History of Architecture 21st edition. Browse through an interactive visual timeline of global architectural history; study in-depth buildings pages; or undertake research through Bloomsbury’s library of architecture ebooks.
the Architecture Design & Practice Online collection includes over 200 titles focusing on studio design and professional practice. This fully cross-searchable resource includes introductory texts for students as well as guides for professional architects. It consists of in-depth design guidance and technical detail, up-to-date peer-reviewed content, a wealth of case studies and technical drawings, and over 15,000 images.
The Associated Press Collections Online makes content of the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive available to libraries worldwide.
Collections include:
European Bureaus Collection: From Vienna, its chief listening post, and also from Prague and Warsaw, the Associated Press (AP) covered Eastern Europe during World War II and the Cold War. This collection is composed almost entirely of rare wire copy, recording the declining influence of the Soviet Union, the last days of the Iron Curtain, and the political and economic restructuring of the former Soviet satellites.
Middle Eastern Bureaus Collection: offers access to records from some of the Associated Press’s (AP) most active international bureaus – Jerusalem, Ankara, and Beirut, as well as their surrounding areas – delivering the exclusive stories behind the headlines from 1967 to 2005.
News Features & Internal Communications: This collection provides access to internal Associated Press publications dating from the turn of the twentieth century, offering insight into the AP, its staff, and the history of news coverage.
U.S. City Bureaus Collection: The U.S. City Bureaus Collection offers access to records from the AP's domestic bureaus, dating from 1931 to 2004.
Washington Bureau Collection, Part I: This collection provides access to Associated Press (AP) records documenting the administrations of eleven US presidents (1938-2009), including an extensive assortment of wire copy covering press conferences, travel, speeches, campaigns, and messages to Congress.
Washington Bureau Collection, Part II: This collection covers significant news reporting on the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of World War I and the post-war period in America and abroad.
Online digital library of unique images sourced from the world's leading museums, galleries, contemporary artists and private collections, with unlimited access to over 530,000 images, all copyright cleared for educational use.
Encyclopedia articles about artists, architects, and artistic movements & periods, as well as bibliographies for further research. Also includes thousands of searchable images.
Provides access to Oxford’s art reference works, including the Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
Includes roughly 75,000 images of art, architecture and world cultures, from the Fine Arts Visual Resources Center and licensed sources. Available system-wide. Some images are IUB only.
The Indiana University Department of the History of Art Dido Image Bank is dedicated to the storage of low resolution (72 dpi) images from the Fine Arts Slide Library collection of over 400,000 images. Encompassing the full breadth of art historical periods and media, the Image Bank contains c.60,000 images, both in-house production and commercially licensed. This compendium of digitized images permits convenient use and access with a graphic web browser. The images are presented in thumbnail and 800 x 600 screen res sizes, and many are also now available in a 1024 x 768 screen resolution. Access to the images is available through keyword search. The DIDO home page also has links to other selected image collections available at IU and on the web.
Most of the content of DIDO is available to the IU system, but commercially licensed images are available only on the Bloomington campus.
The images and content in the Artstor public collections can be used by anyone without having an account. However, make sure that you consult the metadata (information associated with the image) so you give proper attribution for the photo.
The images in the New York Public Library Digital Collections are in the public domain. However, make sure to give the proper attribution to each image when citing the image! This information can be found at the bottom of each webpage for an image.
Make sure to pay attention to which Creative Commons license each image that you use from the Creative Commons has. Also, that you are following the rules of each license and giving proper attribution.
