Get Help
Schedule a Research Consultation
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Companies
Aeroseal
- What does Aeroseal do?See this report from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory to learn about Aeroseal's technology and its applications.
- Factiva
This link opens in a new window
Search Aeroseal to find news stories that mention the company. - Pitchbook
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: New users must first register from a computer on campus. After registering, users may log into their account to access the database from anywhere. IU users must create an individual account using their iu.edu email. Users must also re-register in June (or after) to reconfirm affiliation. IF YOU ARE NOT ON CAMPUS: Use this workaround to create an account. Once you have created an account, you can log in from any browser.
See profile on Aeroseal and the list of similar companies therein.
IPOs
You can do a Factiva search that will return a list of articles about IPOs in the renewable energy sector. You can also execute this search by going to Factiva, selecting search builder at the top and pasting this string:
ns=c1711 AND (in=irenewee or in=irenewf) and (NYSE or NASDAQ)
See the list of companies at the top of the left column, to quickly identify a list of company names. For more information on publicly traded companies, including financials, search by name or ticker in Marketline or CapitalIQ, below.
- MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - S & P Capital IQ
- This link opens in a new window
S & P Capital IQ is a web and Excel-based financial research application produced by Standard & Poor's. It organizes historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide, provide clients with the data necessary to analyze company fundamentals, build financial models, screen for investment ideas, and execute other financial research tasks.
Available for IUB-affiliated users only. Requires individual registration for access. To sign up, select “New User?”. Questions related to registration should be directed to the Kelley School of Business.
Private Competitors
We can often pull a list of competitors by searching for companies with an industry code in common (like NAICS or SIC). However, there is no code that is well-aligned with Aeroseal's business, so your best best is to google for companies that provide similar services, then follow up as possible in our business article and news databases. Here is one such company similar to Aeroseal:
- Yellowblue Eco TEchYellowblue Eco Tech has a website called sealinsulateandventilate.com/ that has some useful information about building envelopes, sealing and more. Look under the Resources tab at the top.
Industry Trends
A first step in many client cases is investigating the industry and the competition. However, the niche nature of Aeroseal's services make this less straightforward than if they were part of an established industry. The best you can do in this case is to look at closely related industries to understand at least some of the drivers, technologies and issues.
- Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Market and technology reports that cover healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and more. Search green building to find reports like:- Trend Opportunity Profiles—Future of Construction
- Growth Opportunities Driven by Green Manufacturing
- Trend Opportunity Profile: Energy
- Global Homes and Buildings Industry Outlook 2023
- and more
- BCC Research
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports that cover life sciences, sensors, materials, environment and sustainability, commerce, and publishers. You might try these reports:- Zero Net Energy Buildings: Global Markets
- Green Building Materials: Global Markets
- U.S. Indoor Air Quality Market
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. You might try these reports:- Energy & Utility Consulting Services in the US
- Heating & Air-Conditioning Contractors in the US
- Utilities in the US
- International Institute of Building Enclosure ConsultantsTrade association for professionals who specialize in roofing, waterproofing, and exterior wall specification and design.
Government Information
A number of government agencies and initiatives deal with energy efficient homes. Here are some places to look for information, or try this google search: net zero home site:.gov.
- Energy.govUse search terms like net zero,duct or envelope to find useful reports and articles, like this one on Zero Energy Ready Homes.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)Search to find various reports and articles, such as this one one affordable net zero homes and this one one developing robots to help retrofit buildings for energy efficirency.
Various regulations, legislative actions and government initiatives are relevant to this case. Here are some sources for accessing and understanding this information.
- Summary of 2022 Legislation and Regulations on EnergyThis report from the EIA describes the legislation and regulations incorporated into the Annual Energy Outlook, which presents an assessment of the outlook for energy markets through 2050.
- GREEN (Growing Renewable Energy and Efficiency Now) Act of 2021This bill provides tax incentives for investment in renewable energy resources and energy efficiency programs.
- Incentivize Residential Energy Efficiency ActThis bill permanently extends the tax credit for nonbusiness energy property, which applies to certain expenditures for energy-efficient improvements or residential energy property expenditures.
- Infrastructure Investment and Jobs ActEspecially pertinent is TITLE V: Energy Efficiency And Building Infrastructure under Division D: Energy, including the Weatherization Assistance Program, the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant Program, and the State Energy Program
- Inflation Reduction Act of 2022Wide-ranging legislation that, in part, supports clean electricity and reduction of carbon emissions under Subtitle D: Energy Security. See this summary of the clean energy portions of the act from the White House.
- Database of State Incentives for Renewables & EfficiencyOperated by the N.C. Clean Energy Technology Center at N.C. State University, DSIRE is a source of information on state-level incentives and policies that support renewables and energy efficiency.
Marketing and Demographics
- Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Reports that include consumer and market data and analysis and marketing strategies. To get started with this database, see this video. You might try these reports:- The Sustainable Consumer
- Improving the Home
- Smart Homes
- SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
News and Article Databases
Article Search
Business Source Complete, EBSCO Management and GreenFILE are examples of literature databases. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Use the tips on the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.
| For this concept | Start with searches like |
| Sustainable | (sustainab* or green or eco*) |
| Energy efficiency | (energy and efficien*) |
| Net zero homes | ("net zero" or "Zero Energy Ready" or ZERH) and (home or house or dwelling) |
| Retrofitting | "retrofitting of buildings" |
| Consumer psychology | ("consumer attitudes" or "consumer behavior") |
| Marketing | (marketing or advertising) |
Examples:
"retrofitting of buildings" AND (sustainab* or green or eco*)
"retrofitting of buildings" AND (energy and efficien*)
("net zero" or "Zero Energy Ready" or ZERH) AND (home or house or dwelling) AND ("consumer attitudes" or "consumer behavior")
Note: Not every combination of search terms will be useful, and these suggestions and examples are not exhaustive: You will need to come up with additional terms for other ideas you are interested in researching.
Doing multiple searches and looking at several pages of results is the key to success.
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications. - EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles. - GreenFILE
- This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. - Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.