Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Institute for International Business (Summer 2019)

Background and Doing Business

Library Resources:

  Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands (book)

HF5389 .M67 2006, Business/SPEA Information Commons, Reference Desk

Web Resources:

  Doing Business

The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.

  GlobalEdge

Your source for statistical data for 201 countries around the world. Find out more about their history, economy and political conditions.

  Nationmaster

NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from hundreds of sources.

Food & Handicraft Research

Library Resources:

Search Tips:

When using this type of index, you will need to type in a combination of keywords or search terms separated by "AND" or "OR" (consult the "Search Tips" tab in the IUB Libraries' Essentials of Research guide for more information about effective searching). Below are some suggested searches that will help you locate information for food/handicrafts by country:

  • food and country name*
  • cookery and country name*
  • ("snack food" or "snack foods") and country name*
  • breakfast (or other name) and country name*
  • (candy or confectionery) and country name*

NOTE: country name* = Istanbul or Ankara or Kenya or Beijing or Hong Kong or Tanzania; can substitute the keyword handicraft(s) or craft(s) in the above searches if that is the focus.

Free Resources:

   Rough Guides

Rough Guides is a travel and guidebook publisher that covers more than 200 destinations. The website includes information on each country's eating and drinking habits as well as a "snack" section. There is also information on shopping and crafts.

Country Language, Culture, Etiquette & Proverbs

Library Resources:

Web Resources:

   CIA World Factbook

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

  Clearly Culture

A blog that provides the latest updates on cross-cultural communication.

  Executive Plane

Provides valuable tips on business etiquette, customs, and protocol for doing business worldwide.

   Kwintessential Global Etiquette

Fact guides showcasing country culture, customs, manners, etiquette, and values. 

   Proverbs:

General Library Resources

  IUB Libraries Website

Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.

   Business/SPEA Citation Guide

Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.