Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CRE Open Resource Program: STEM for Tweens!

This guide provides information on and links to open STEM resources, primarily geared to the tween (ages 8-12) audience. Also useful for parents and educators.

Home

STEM for Tweens!

This guide provides information on and links to open STEM resources, primarily geared to the tween (ages 8-12) audience.  Created in collaboration with Indiana University's Center for Rural Engagement, IU Libraries and public libraries throughout the Indiana Uplands region, it is intended to be used by parents, educators and of course - tweens!

Resources listed here come from the Federal Depository Library Program, which aims to provide free, ready, and permanent public access to Federal Government information, now and for future generations, organizations across the state of Indiana as well as Indiana University's campus itself.

Resources from the Federal Government

Federal Depository Library Program Resources

NIST Kids

Facilitated by the National Institute of Standards and Technology, this site provides resources for parents, teachers and students, answers to frequently asked questions and the NISTory video series.

SciJinks

From the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, this platform inspires and engages students to learn about weather, satellite meteorology and Earth science through fun articles, games and videos targeted toward middle- and high-school aged students and their educators.

NASA Kids' Club

Image galleries, videos, downloadable materials and more from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration.

Energy Kids

The Energy Information Administration's platform for kids, featuring a glossary, energy calculators and lots of games and activities.

 

It's in Indiana!

State Resources

I-STEM

Indiana Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics. Partnership of public and private higher education institutions, K-12 schools, businesses, and government, hosted by Purdue University. I-STEM was started in 2006 as a collaboration among 18 institutions of higher education in 10 regions throughout Indiana. I-STEM includes committees comprised of educational content experts and practitioners who come together to design and employ programs to address STEM issues. I-STEM supports K–12 teachers and education leaders working to implement high academic standards towards STEM literacy for all students. It also provides Indiana education leaders with new knowledge about teaching and learning.

I-STEM has many great corporate partners such as Lilly, Biocrossroads, Dow AgroSciences, OrthoWorx, Cook Medical, Cummins, Roche Diagnostics, Crane Naval Surface Weapons Center, and Rolls Royce. I-STEM welcomes partnerships with all the STEM businesses in Indiana.

SEFI

The Science Education Foundation of Indiana was formed in 1964 with the sole purpose of providing resources and coordination for students from Indiana to attend the National Science Fair. 

Indiana DOE Science and Computer Science Standards

From IU, For You!

Indiana University Resources

Center for Conservation

At the Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art, the Center for Conservation works in collaboration with registration, curatorial, and installation professionals to examine, document, analyze, and treat the museum’s collection so that it can be safely and more fully enjoyed. The studio lets you see our conservators in action. Because the walls of this space are made from glass, it is visible from both the outside terrace and the second-floor galleries. As you walk by, you’ll see which artworks are currently undergoing treatment.

Indiana Geological & Water Survey

The IGWS Geology Museum is open during the Geology Building renovation! Select displays are available to tour at its temporary home at 420 N. Walnut Street in Bloomington, Indiana. The museum is open to the public free of charge from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday, with weekend and evening hours available for special events.

When the renovated museum opens in 2021, it will be filled with new exhibits and an interactive learning lab to engage visitors in discovering collections objects and participating in science.

Collections@IU

Indiana University has hundreds of galleries and museums where you can see and experience a rich history of art and collectibles. Many of these galleries and museums have even reached critical acclaim, such as the Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art. Many of the galleries and museums also serve a variety of missions including research, teaching, public outreach, and historic preservation for the university and the broader community.

Additional Open Access Resources

But Wait... There's More :)

The National Academies Press

The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.  Nearly 10,000 books are currently available on here free for download!

Google Advanced Book Search