BUS C204/C205 Business Writing
Schedule a Research Consultation
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Industry, Demographic and Market Research Databases
- IBISWorldA comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. See the report on Athleisure Clothing Manufacturing, as well as reports on Men's and Women's Apparel.
- Mintel ReportsMarket research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. See reports such as Athleisure, Sneakers and Streetwear, Men's & Women's Clothing, and more. See this video for an overview of this database.
- StatistaConsolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts.
- SimplyAnalyticsWeb-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- Simmons InsightsData on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits. See this video to learn one quick way to use this database.
- SMA: Sports Market AnalyticsMarket research from the National Sporting Goods Association; the U.S. Department of Commerce; various sports governing bodies; and full-text articles from various magazines.
Journal and News Articles on Industry Trends and Marketing
- ABI/INFORM CollectionAccess to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- Business Source CompleteRegional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- EBSCO Management CollectionFull text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
- Proquest BusinessAllows users to search across six ProQuest business databases: ABI/INFORM Complete, EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal, and The Women's Wear Daily Archive.
Article Search
ABI/INFORM, Business Source Complete and EBSCO Management are examples of literature databases. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Use the tips on the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.
| For this concept | Start with words like |
| Athleisure | (athleisure OR sportswear OR "sports wear") |
| Gen Z | ("Gen Z" OR GenZ OR "generation z") |
| Consumer psychology | ("consumer attitudes" or "consumer behavior") |
| Purchase drivers | ("purchase intention" or "path to purchase" or "willingness to pay" or "shopping journey") |
| Mobile/online shopping | (mobile or online or ecommerce) and (shop* or purchas*) |
| Marketing | (marketing or advertising) |
| "grass roots" Marketing | ("word of mouth" OR EWOM OR influencer) |
Examples:
(athleisure OR sportswear OR "sports wear") AND (marketing OR advertising)
("Gen Z" OR GenZ OR "generation z") AND ("word of mouth" OR EWOM OR influencer)
Note: Not every combination of search terms will be useful, and these suggestions and examples are not exhaustive: You will need to come up with additional terms for other ideas you are interested in researching.
Doing multiple searches and looking at several pages of results is the key to success.
General Library Resources
Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.
- IUCAT Online Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch for books on your topic owned by the IUB Libraries. Use the Finding Books guide for tips on how to search and use this resource.
- OneSearch@IUSearch across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.
• Business/SPEA Citation Guide
Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.