Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Introduction to LibGuide

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is an regional, intergovernmental organization comprised of 10 member states: Singapore, Brunei, Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines, Indonesia, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Myanmar. More than just a forum for intergovernmental cooperation on political issues and diplomacy, ASEAN also acts as a space for cooperation and collaboration on economic development, regional and global security, arts and culture, and scientific research.


At Indiana University, the Southeast Asia and ASEAN Studies Program, housed in the School for Global and International Studies, is developing curricula that capture the vitality and diversity of Southeast Asia in the region's histories, languages, religions, politics, arts, economies, environments, and philosophies.


In this LibGuide, we provide a wealth of valuable resources for  faculty and students working on research questions related to ASEAN specifically or the Southeast Asia more generally. The resources provided here also provide a comprehnsive introduction to ASEAN and its role in Southeast Asia for those looking to develop some general background knowledge on the subject. If you have any questions, do get in touch with IU's South and Southeast Asian Studies Librarian, Karen Farrell.



Association of Southeast Asian Nations