Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 464/560 Chinese Art and Archaeology

About this Page

This page provides links to other virtual museum collections that contain Chinese art and artifacts. It also provides some tips for navigating and searching virtual museum collections. If you have any questions about the content of this page, please feel free to email me.

Using Online Museum Collections

General Tips:

  • Take advantage of the filtering options
    • Make sure that you use any of the filtering options the online collection offers. This will help you save time and learn more about the scope of the collection.
  • Pay attention to everything listed in the digital record for an artwork.
    • It is always a good idea to pay attention to everything listed in the record of an artwork. Sometimes digital records will list other artworks in their collections that are similar, articles about the artifact you are looking at, and information about the exhibition history of the artwork. This can be really useful when you don't know what you are looking for. It is also a great place to start when you are in the beginning of your research.
  • Read the Use/Copyright Statements on the Website
    • Make sure to familiarize yourself with the use/copyright restrictions on the website. Not all online museum collections have the same rules. So it is important to familiarize yourself with the rules and restrictions for each online source that you are using.