About this LibGuide
This LibGuide features helpful resources for the teaching and learning of Russian as a foreign language. Though by no means exhaustive, the guide orients teachers and students to popular dictionaries and textbooks published in the United States and Russia, useful online learning tools (such as online language lessons and teaching materials), and resources that can help users to improve listening skills and learn more about Russian music and poetry. It also features some suggestions on where to study Russian, and other useful links, including language proficiency guides, professional organizations for teachers of Russian, and links to resources compiled by large language resource centers.
Graduate Assistant
In English
Mezhdu Nami (Между нами), the first fully-online introductory Russian textbook, was released publicly in the summer of 2015 and is rapidly gaining popularity. "Mezhdu Nami is a free, web-based textbook that provides a comprehensive introduction to Russian language and culture. It is organized around the experiences of four American students, each spending the academic year in a different Russian city. Their interactions with host families, roommates, fellow students and teachers create a universe of contextualized information that motivates the use of the target language in the classroom"
Overview of the Между нами textbook website
By Lynne deBenedette, William J. Comer, Alla Smyslova, & Jonathan Perkins, 2016.
- Live from Russia
"Russian Stage One: Live from Russia! Vol. 1 is the first part of a comprehensive program for elementary Russian when used along with Russian Stage One: Live from Russia! Vol 2. This program reflects the social, cultural, and linguistic norms of contemporary Russia and its richly diverse regions.
This learning package includes: textbook, workbook, CD and DVD"
By Maria D. Lekić, Dan E. Davidson, Kira S. Gor, 2008. - Golosa
UPDATE: "Golosa moves from Pearson to Routledge.
Pearson’s support ends in fall 2020. The Routledge 6th edition appears in 2022. These free GOLOSA resources will keep you afloat during the interim. We also have COVID-19 resources"
"Golosa: A Basic Course in Russian, 5 edit. strikes a true balance between communication and structure. It takes a contemporary approach to language learning by focusing on the development of functional competence in the four skills (listening, speaking, reading, and writing), as well as the expansion of cultural knowledge. It also provides comprehensive explanations of Russian grammar along with the structural practice students need to build accuracy.
Golosa is divided into two books (Book 1 & Book 2) of ten units each. The units are organized thematically, and each unit contains dialogs, texts, exercises, and other material designed to enable students to read, speak, and write about the topic, as well as to understand simple conversations. Each volume of GOLOSA includes a Main Textbook, and a Student Activities manual (S.A.M.) with laboratory drills, written exercises, and Video activities. The audio program runs approximately 15 hours per volume and includes listening comprehension exercises, speaking dialogues, and rapid-pace oral drills. The video program, available online with exercises in the S.A.M. includes over two hours of interviews with everyday Russians in Russia"
By Richard M. Robin, George Washington University; Karen Evans-Romaine, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Galina Shatalina, George Washington University, 2012.
. - Nachalo
"Available in a 2-volume format, Nachalo is a textbook for beginning Russian courses. Nachalo presents grammar functionally and teaches students the four skills of listening, speaking, reading, and writing within the context of a wealth of cultural information.
The abundant practice material in Nachalo ranges from focused and controlled to open-ended and communicative. Nachalo features an on-going story set in Russia with a cast of Russian and American characters, exposing students to new vocabulary and structures in authentic situations. Nachalo includes the most extensive package of support materials for any beginning Russian text on the market, including a video tied specifically to the text, shot on location in Moscow. The Second Edition has a text-specific Website and an all new student CD-ROM"
By Sophia Lubensky, SUNY--Albany; Gerard L. Ervin, Ohio State University, Emeritus; Larry McLellan, University of California, Santa Barbara; Donald K Jarvis, Brigham Young University, 2002.
. - Beginner's Russian with Interactive Online Workbook: A Basic Russian Course
A beginners textbook with an interactive website with additional materials for each chapter, including online flashcards.
By Anna Kudyma, Frank Miller, Olga Kagan. Hippocrene Books, 2015;
2nd edition (2022). Same authors + Michael A. Lavery. - Russian Full Circle
"Russian Full Circle offers a concise but thorough introduction to Russian grammar, foundational vocabulary, and communicative strategies in ten lessons with loose thematic orientations. A rich ancillary Web site provides cultural content and supplemental audiovisual materials. As a single-volume elementary textbook, Russian Full Circle equips students in one year with the essential skills they need to navigate the world of the Russian language and to build upon their language base thanks to the firm grounding in grammar and vocabulary that it supplies"
With a companion website.
By Donna Oliver with Edie Furniss. 2013.
Second Year Russian Language and Culture
"A highly communicative approach to Intermediate Russian grounded in everyday culture and authentic texts.
Etazhi uses the communicative approach to advance student's Russian proficiency from the Novice High / Intermediate Low level of the ACTFL scale to an Intermediate Mid / Intermediate High level. Designed for one academic year of instruction, Etazhi engages students with highly relevant topics to internalize new vocabulary, expand their grammatical reach, and deepen their cultural understanding of Russian speakers"
Evgeny Dengub and Susanna Nazarova, 2021.
- Russian: From Novice High to Intermediate
Russian: From Novice High to Intermediate is a multi-level course that presents grammar, vocabulary, culture, music, film, and literature within the context of Russian life.
With a flexible modular approach structured around contemporary themes, this course builds on students’ reading, listening, speaking, and writing skills while also expanding their cultural literacy. Each chapter contains projects and scenarios that enable language learners to practice and demonstrate communicative competence. An interactive website full of videos, audio, and self-correcting exercises accompanies the course.
This comprehensive resource is ideal for use in second- and third-year Russian classes.
Anna S. Kudyma, 2021. - Russian Stage Two: Welcome Back!
"Russian Stage Two: Welcome Back! is a video-based second-year course for learners of Russian at the intermediate level of study. The goal of this second-year course is to improve functional competence in speaking, listening, reading, and writing by: 1) activizing the base grammar generally covered in an elementary course; and 2) doubling the learner's active vocabulary to reach roughly 1,600-2,000 words. In terms of the ACTFL proficiency scale, the aim is to provide the learner with the tools necessary for attaining a solid intermediate mid-level of oral proficiency.
The course materials are based on a video series shot in Russia that takes us back to Russia to see how our friends from Russian Stage One are doing. The program consists of a main textbook, two student workbooks (one for each semester), DVD, and two audio CDs"
By Cynthia Martin, Andrei Zaitsev, 2010 - V puti: Russian Grammar in Context
"This is a highly successful program that assists in the development of all the language skills (listening, speaking, reading, and writing) by presenting realistic settings, situations, and contexts. Perfect for use in an intermediate or advanced Russian course, V Puti offers conversational exercises, various readings (biographies, poems, literature and historical texts), and grammatical explanations and practice.
The Companion Website for the 2nd edition features the following: the textbook audio, the Student Activities Manual audio exercises, the video program with comprehension exercises, and supplementary exercises and tests related to the textbook and Student Activities Manual"
By Olga Kagan, UCLA; Frank Miller, Columbia University; Ganna Kudyma, UCLA, 2006
. - Panorama: Intermediate Russian Language and Culture
"Panorama moves intermediate-level students of Russian toward advanced proficiency by engaging them in a systematic and comprehensive approach to Russian grammar with texts from a variety of genres, including proverbs and sayings to immerse students in Russian culture.
By reading and listening to Russian literary classics and contemporary nonfiction texts, students develop a contextual understanding of Russian culture and forms of expression that grow their command of vocabulary, grammar, and complex syntax"
By Benjamin Rifkin, Evgeny Dengub, and Susanna Nazarova, 2017.
. - Russian: From Intermediate to Advanced
"This textbook (Russian: From Intermediate to Advanced) can be used in the third and fourth years of college, or, if described in proficiency terms, will take students from the intermediate to the advanced level of proficiency on the ACTFL scale (or 1-2 on the ILR scale).
The textbook is innovative in its approach to materials presentation: it creates a learning environment that is similar to real life in that all modalities are interwoven. To this end, tasks and assignments are designed with the following questions in mind: How do native speakers use these texts? What are the real life purposes?"
By Olga E.Kagan, Anna Kudyma and Frank Miller, 2015
- Faces of Contemporary Russia
Faces of Contemporary Russia is a one-semester textbook for high-intermediate to advanced level Russian students that aims to develop students' linguistic proficiency by examining significant personalities in current Russian culture. In addition to introductory and concluding chapters, the book features twelve individuals (one per chapter), drawing from a range of areas such as arts, sports, journalism, and business. While upper-level Russian textbooks tend to emphasize grammar and reading more traditional works of Russian literature, this book instead seeks to primarily engage students in learning about and discussing the breadth of contemporary Russian culture while weaving the study of grammar and vocabulary into those discussions. In addition to readings and in-class communicative activities, the book also features guided research assignments that encourage students to make use of the many personality interviews and YouTube clips available online.
By O. Mesropova, 2019.
. - Russian: From Intermediate to Advanced
"This textbook (Russian: From Intermediate to Advanced) can be used in the third and fourth years of college, or, if described in proficiency terms, will take students from the intermediate to the advanced level of proficiency on the ACTFL scale (or 1-2 on the ILR scale).
The textbook is innovative in its approach to materials presentation: it creates a learning environment that is similar to real life in that all modalities are interwoven. To this end, tasks and assignments are designed with the following questions in mind: How do native speakers use these texts? What are the real life purposes?"
By Olga E.Kagan, Anna Kudyma and Frank Miller, 2015
. - Advanced Russian: From Speaking To Reading
"This innovative suite of instructional material for advanced students of Russian is aimed at fostering their transition from slow, controlled speech to native-like fluency. The driving methodology is lexicalist-oriented, implying an emphasis on the situated internalization of vocabulary, so that grammar skills develop naturally with the repeated use of particular words and phrases in combination. The textbook centers around authentic stories by contemporary Russian writers, supplemented by cultural background, various activities, and the treatment of select grammatical points. These stories will not only challenge students to read real Russian, they will also provide a stimulus for free discussion about social circumstances, human relationships, and moral values reflected in the literature.
The text is accompanied by cloud access to multimedia materials"
By Sophia Lubensky and Irina Odintsova with Ineractive software by Slava Paperno, 2010
. - Russian in Use: An Interactive Approach to Advanced Communicative Competence
""Russian in Use: An Interactive Approach to Communicative Competence" is a four-skill language textbook intended for advanced students of Russian. The book focuses on high-frequency, nonliterary topics of general interest: geography, education, politics, ecology, and Russians perceptions of America. Each chapter contains preparatory vocabulary and user-friendly grammatical exercises supported by examples from contemporary popular literature. The lessons then provide practice using external resources; authentic reading texts; authentic, unscripted listening exercises (on a multi-media CD ROM, included with the text); and independent writing and speaking activities. The book emphasizes independent language production. Students examine topics from diverse perspectives and then are encouraged to develop and defend their own opinions in clear, colloquial standard Russian"
By Sandra Rosengrant, 2006
- A Comprehensive Russian Grammar
"A Comprehensive Russian Grammar, by Terence Wade, is the definitive resource on Russian usage, providing complete and accurate guidance for students and professionals alike. Now in its fourth edition, this authoritative text continues to be an indispensable reference for English-speaking learners of Russian.
Thoroughly revised and updated by Russian language experts David Gillespie, Svetlana Gural, and Marina Korneeva, this edition reflects changes in the grammar, the lexis, and the contemporary practice of the language in Russia’s increasingly globalized, market-oriented economy. New content includes coverage of words and phrases from IT and social network terminology that have entered the Russian language, original contributions by leading Russian language scholars, and numerous modern usage examples taken from Russian websites, social media, and post-Soviet literature. The standard Russian language reference for English speakers for more than a quarter of a century, this volume:
--Provides a comprehensive, user-friendly approach to Russian grammar exposition
--Covers every essential aspect of the Russian language, including prepositions, conjunctions, numerals, and word order
--Features updated examples and illustrations, new insights into recent developments in Russian language usage, and more consistent transliteration of Russian names
--Includes a glossary of grammatical terms, word and subject indexes, and a complete bibliography"
2020 - Russian Grammar Workbook
"The second edition of A Russian Grammar Workbook provides a rigorous and hands-on approach to Russian grammar for students who are intent on mastering the nuance and complexities of this language.
- Revised and updated version of the popular and comprehensive workbook offering detailed coverage of all aspects of Russian grammar.
- New edition reflects changes in Russian lexis and grammar over the past few years.
- Features over 230 sets of structured exercises.
- Packed with activities ranging from substitution drills and multiple choice questions, to grammatical quizzes and translation exercises.
- May be used independently or in conjunction with Wade’s A Comprehensive Russian Grammar, 3rd edition"
By Terence Wade, David Gillespie, 2012 - A Reference Grammar of Russian
"This textbook describes and systematizes all aspects of the grammar of Russian--including patterns of orthography, sounds, inflection, syntax, tense-aspect-mood, word order, and intonation. It is especially concerned with the meaning of combinations of words (constructions) and the core concept is that of the predicate history (a record of the states of entities through time and across possibilities). Using predicate histories, the book presents an integrated account of the semantics of verbs, nouns, case, and aspect. It will appeal to students, scholars and language professionals interested in Russian"
By Alan Timberlake, 2012. - What You Always Wanted To Know About Russian Grammar But Were Afraid To Ask
What You Always Wanted to Know about Russian Grammar (*But Were Afraid to Ask) begins where textbooks and conventional grammars leave off: with the perplexing, poorly explained, often maddening aspects of Russian that drive English-speaking students and even their teachers and professors crazy! The author provides authoritative and thoroughly researched answers to 65 thorny questions submitted over a 10-year period by the readers of her regular column in the newsletter of the American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages (AATSEEL).
By Alina Israeli. Slavica, 2011. - Leveraging Your Russian with Roots, Prefixes, and Suffixes
"The book focuses on root, prefix, and suffix study. The goal is to sensitize Russian learners to the vast potential of word element combinations in creating the large vocabulary generally lacking in students as they complete a liberal arts study of the language. Utilizing Leveraging, students will benefit as early as the latter part of first-year Russian, although most of the roots will be covered in the second and third years of Russian study. The authors of this text have divided the 550 most productive Russian roots into five groups according to difficulty. The core meaning of each root is identified and each root is illustrated, typically through from five to ten full, authentic Russian sentences, each of which is also translated into English. It is intended that the study of word elements mainly occur outside of class and take only a few minutes of class time for emphasis and review"
By Gary Browning, David K. Hart, and Raisa Solovyova, 2001 - Roots of the Russian Language: An Elementary Guide to Wordbuilding
“Designed to help students of Russian increase their knowledge of wordbuilding and, as a result, increase their vocabulary, Roots of the Russian Language includes 450 of the most commonly used roots of the Russian language. After mastering Russian prefixes and suffixes, students develop an ability to construct words and terms from a given Russian root”
By George Z. Patrick, 1989 - Russian Motion Verbs for Intermediate Students
“This handbook is devoted entirely to Russian motion verbs, a notoriously complex and difficult area of grammar for English-speaking students. William J. Mahota provides a thorough treatment of verb forms for students in the second and third years of Russian language study, integrating text and workbook exercises in each chapter of the book. Designed to complement any standard intermediate-level textbook, this handbook focuses first on unprefixed verbs and then on prefixed verbs. By using up-to-date examples and colloquial language, Mahota's handbook aims to prepare the intermediate student to use comfortably the everyday Russian heard in conversation on the street and in the home”
By William J. Mahota, 1996 - Fundamental of Russian Verbal Conjugation for Students
“This handbook and dictionary is intended for use in conjunction with any first or second year Russian language textbook that utilizes the single basic stem, or "one-stem", analysis of verbal conjugation. It is designed to facilitate and supplement the teaching and learning of the verbal system as both a reference guide and as an instructional aid. The dictionary section comprises two parts. The first part is the Glossary, containing over 1300 frequently used Russian verbs, listed alphabetically by infinitive form and glossed with verbal stem, marker, aspect and aspectual pair, English definition, case government, and basic conjugation in the past, non-past, and imperative forms. The second part provides an alphabetical listing of all the verbs in the Glossary listed by verbal stem classifier. The last section provides an inventory of 19 irregular Russian verbal stems and their conjugations”
By Tom Garza, 1994
Both in English and Russian
- PRO-DVIZHENIE Advanced Russian through Film and Media by Alyssa DeBlasio and Izolda Savenkova
"Pro-dvizhenie is a student-centered, inquiry-based textbook designed to build Advanced-level Russian proficiency through engagement with timely topics that encourage reflection and examination. Whether exploring the role of technology in relationships, learning about indigenous communities of Russia, or reflecting on what it means to live well, Pro-dvizhenie uses popular Russian film, TV, and media as a springboard for various types of activities, including skill-building exercises, essay writing, and group projects. Students are encouraged to challenge assumptions and make intercultural connections throughout while developing ACTFL Advanced-level skills such as argumentation, narration, and collaboration"
Georgetown University Press, 2023. - Unlocking Russian Pronunciation
"Unlocking Russian Pronunciation is a comprehensive multimedia experience designed to facilitate the development of speech that sounds authentically Russian. It can be used as a supplement in Russian language courses at any level and the flipped learning environment poses no instructional burden for teachers"
By Kimberly (Кира) DiMattia. Kendall Hunt, 2019. - Political Russian: An Intermediate Course in Russian Language for International Relations, National Security and Socio-Economics
"Political Russian is written especially for generalists and practitioners engaged in international relations, foreign trade or people-to-people exchanges with Russia. The book is aimed at the development of three basic types of skills: reading, speaking, and listening. We assume that students starting the book have acquired a “first-year” knowledge of Russian and, therefore, have been exposed to a skeletal grammar and lexicon, although we make no assumption about the level of control and expect little more than a novice level of proficiency"
7th edition, 2019. - News from Russia. Language, Life, and the Russian MediaNews from Russia. Language, Life, and the Russian Media
“This unique Russian-language textbook draws on printed mass media, especially up-to-date Internet media sources, to introduce intermediate and advanced students to varied aspects of modern Russian life. Presenting fascinating material on armed conflicts, government and politics, business and economics, accidents and catastrophes, the new Russian class society, problems of youth, and more, the book provides the cultural and linguistic background necessary to better understand Russian media reports and to gain insights into Russia’s current political, economic, and cultural issues. Features of the book include: vocabulary development exercises; pre- and post-reading classroom activities; a Web site with extensive Internet tasks, interactive dictionary, instructor material, and more.”
By Andrei Bogomolov and Marita Nummikoski, 2004 - Новости из России. Русский язык в средствах массовой информации. Новое издание (восьмое, исправленное)
Russian-language version of the previous book, News from Russia. The newest edition was published in 2019. - Advanced Russian Through History
“Advanced Russian Through History" is a Russian reader for students working towards advanced and superior level proficiency in Russian. The book consists of thirty-six chapters focusing on the history of Russia, from Kievan Rus' to the post-Soviet era. Each chapter is accompanied by a corresponding minilecture and related learning tasks on the Web. The learning tasks are designed to promote students' abilities to understand and produce argument in the style of scholarly discourse, both in speech and in writing”
By Benjamin Rifkin and Olga Kagan with Anna Yatsenko, 2007 - Cinema for Russian Conversation, Volume 1 and 2
“This is a two-volume series of books designed to facilitate discussion in Russian of Russian language films. Each chapter concentrates on one film and includes assignments for students training from Intermediate to Advanced Plus proficiency according to the ACTFL guidelines. The book has a modular structure that allows instructors to select the films according to the students' interests and goals of the class. The book can be used on its own as a textbook or as a supplemental material for classes at various levels. While the book's main purpose is the development of students' conversation skills, each chapter includes texts for reading comprehension and exercises that focus on the acquisition of written skills and grammatical accuracy”
By Olga Kagan, Mara Kashper, and Yuliya Morozova, 2005 - Animation for Russian Conversation
“Animation for Russian Conversation” draws on the best known Russian works of animation—Cheburashka, Karlson, Hedgehog in the Fog, and Vinni Pukh. Intended for Russian students of the Novice High to Intermediate Mid levels according to ACTFL guidelines, this book offers high interest to anyone learning Russian through authentic, but accessible Russian materials. Exercises cover vocabulary and grammar, with advanced exercises to challenge students further.
Instructors can select assignments based on the level of their group and their course goals. Some grammar exercises might best be used in conjunction with a regular textbook, depending on the level of the class. The table of contents includes a listing of grammar and lexical topics covered in each section. The animations in the text are generally widely available, but must be purchased separately from this book”
By Jason Merrill, Julia Mikhailova, and Maria Alley, 2009 - Russian Through Art For Intermediate to Advanced Students
"Russian Through Art: For Intermediate to Advanced Students develops all four language skills while enhancing students’ cultural knowledge through exposure to Russian visual arts.
Each of the six thematically organised chapters is accompanied by online resources. These supporting materials include online lectures, readings, audio and video clips and assignments of varying levels of difficulty, starting with description and narration tasks and progressing to discussion and debate. Each chapter contains a number of task-based and project-based assignments."
By Anna S. Kudyma, Olga E. Kagan. 2019. - В мире новостей. Учебное пособие по развитию навыков аудирования на материале средств массовой информации
Пособие по развитию навыков аудирования на материале СМИ. Пособие состоит из 3 частей и включает в себя различные темы (Книга 1: СМИ; Внешнеполитическая деятельность; Внутренняя политика; Книга 2: Экономическое положение страны; Экономические реформы; Власть и бизнес; Крупный бизнес; Малый бизнес; Ценовая политика; Рынок труда; Книга 3: Прогноз погоды; Стихийные природные явления; Пожары; Аварии на транспорте), каждая из которых рассчитана на 6-8 академических часов. Цель пособия — расширение лексического запаса и его систематизация, развитие и совершенствование умений аудирования, чтения, письма и говорения на основе текстов публицистического стиля речи. Для тех, кто владеет языком на уровне не ниже ТРКИ-1 (В1).
Л. И. Москвитина, 2005-2013 - Русская газета к утреннему кофе. Интерактивный курс русского языка
"Эта книга является составляющей уникального интерактивного курса «Русская газета к утреннему кофе», новинки в области молодой науки — педагогического дизайна. Стартовый модуль курса, который вошел в книгу, является самостоятельной единицей, законченной в структурно-смысловом отношении. Модуль состоит из 11 уроков, распределенных по рубрикам ГАСТРОНОМИЯ, МОДА и ИСКУССТВО. Все уроки созданы на базе неадаптированных статей русских газет. Книга рассчитана на продвинутый этап обучения (II сертификационный уровень). Она призвана помочь учащимся освоить технику «легкого», «естественного» чтения, которой владеют носители языка, и приохотить их к чтению русских газет и журналов. Интерактивный тренинг, экзаменационные материалы, а также аудиовизуальные задания читатель найдет в интернет-версии курса по адресу www.lclass.org" - Бизнес-русский : курс для продвинутого этапа
"Учебное пособие расcчитано на англоговорящих студентов (рекомендуемый уровень В2 и выше) и на широкий круг читателей с хорошим уровнем владения русским языком, желающих расширить свои знания по русскому языку делового общения и познакомиться с социально-экономическими аспектами жизни в современной России.
Поскольку большинство материалов сопровождается переводом на английский язык, это пособие также могут использовать русскоговорящие студенты, желающие усовершенствовать свой деловой английский. В дополнение к лексико-грамматичеcким и переводным упражнениям в каждом уроке содержатся задания творческого характера, которые помогут студентам в развитии их исследовательских компетенций"
D. Tsiskarashvili, 2020 - Русский язык для делового общения. A2 (Russian for Business)
"Учебное пособие по изучению делового русского языка как иностранного (базовый уровень) адресовано менеджерам и бизнесменам, ведущим сотрудничество или планирующим работу с русскоговорящими клиентами и партнёрами. Книга содержит 12 тем и состоит из: учебника, где представлены словарь, грамматика, бизнес-навыки, диалоги и учебные ситуации; тетради с заданиями (с ответами); CD"
Вторая и третья часть пособия - уровни В1 и В2. - Гуманитарные науки. Учебное пособие по языку специальности
Учебник из серии "Читаем тексты по специальности", Вып. 2
"Основу пособия составляют неадаптированные и частично адаптированные тексты по психологии, социологии, истории, географии, культурологии и другим специальностям. Пособие предназначено для выработки навыков анализа научных текстов, совершенствования владения языком специальности в устной и письменной форме. Для иностранных учащихся гуманитарных специальностей, имеющих подготовку на уровне ТРКИ-1" - Читаем тексты по специальности. Вып. 6. Экономика
"Пособие предназначено для иностранных студентов, изучающих экономические науки и имеющих базовую подготовку по русскому языку в объеме первого семестра подготовительного факультета. Пособие также ставит целью познакомить студентов с некоторыми экономическими понятиями и подготовить их к слушанию лекций и к работе в семинарах по экономическим дисциплинам на первом курсе" - Право. Учебное пособие по языку специальности
Учебник из серии "Читаем тексты по специальности", Вып. 8
"Учебное пособие предназначено для занятий по русскому языку в группах студентов-иностранцев, обучающихся на юридических факультетах вузов и имеющих базовую подготовку по русскому языку в объеме первого семестра подготовительного факультета. Пособие также ставит целью познакомить студентов с некоторыми юридическими понятиями курса «Теория государства и права» и подготовить их к изучению юридических дисциплин на первом курсе" - Русский язык для работников консульств
"Материал пособия рассчитан на учащихся, осваивающих базовый уровень владения русским языком как иностранным (А2). Основная цель пособия - формирование и развитие умений и навыков устной речи.
Первые два раздела пособия посвящены профессиональной деятельности обучающихся: выполнению служебных обязанностей и помощи иностранным гражданам на территории России. Темы третьего раздела затрагивают ситуации социально-бытового характера, такие как покупки, заказ такси, общественный транспорт, аренда квартиры и другие" - Русский язык для математиков
Учебное пособие адресовано иностранным учащимся продвинутого этапа обучения. Пособие включает типовые неадаптированные математические тексты, отражающие некоторые общие темы данной учебно-профессиональной сферы общения, имеющие воспроизводимую композиционно-смысловую структуру и реализующиеся на соответствующей основе.
Система заданий направлена на овладение базовым словарём данной области знаний, развитие навыков чтения, говорения и письма. - Русский язык будущему инженеру
"Данный учебник предназначен для иностранных граждан, желающих подготовиться к получению высшего технического образования в университетах и институтах Российской Федерации.
Учебник делится на две части. Первая часть - вводно-предметный курс - включает в себя материал, соотносящийся по содержанию с материалом четырех предметов НСР-черчения, математики, химии и физики, как предваряющий начало занятий по предметам, так и закрепляющий первичные знания. Во второй (основной) части учебника логико-семантические категории вводятся с помощью грамматического комментария, отрабатываются в серии грамматических упражнений и в учебно-научных текстах.
Учебник состоит из Книги для студента и Книги для преподавателя, содержащей материал по письму к урокам. В учебник включен словарь с переводом лексики, встречающейся в данном учебнике, на английский и др. языки" - Говорим о медицине по-русски
"Цель учебника – обучение студентов-медиков общению в учебной и социально-профессиональной макросферах. Прохождение данного курса обеспечивает формирование коммуникативной компетенции в объёме II сертификационного уровня, определённого Государственным стандартом по РКИ (Профессиональные модули). Отбор, систематизация, методическая интерпретация языкового и речевого материала, которым должны овладеть иностранные студенты-медики, осуществлены авторами учебника на основе принципов функционально-коммуникативной лингвистики и коммуникативно-деятельностной методики. Учебник подготовлен на кафедре русского языка медицинского факультета Российского университета дружбы народов"
- Selected Short Stories by Vassily Aksyonov
“The stories in this collection are intended for intermediate to advanced students of Russian who already have a good knowledge of basic Russian grammar and wish to expand their vocabulary, develop their skills in reading, as well as in speaking and writing. The texts are accented, key words and phrases are glossed in the margins, while idiomatic expressions, slang, and colloquialisms are treated in the footnotes. Where appropriate, the footnotes also contain translations of difficult passages, as well as cultural and grammatical commentaries”
By James S. Levine, 2013 - Viktoria Tokareva. A Day without Lying
A glossed edition for Intermediate-level student of Russian with vocabulary, exercises, and commentaries by William J. Comer. “A Day without Lying” draws readers into the everyday existence of a twenty-something Muscovite who has decided to live a single day without telling any lies. The companion website for this edition offers additional materials for both teachers and students.
Winner, 2010 AATSEEL (American Association of Teachers of Slavic and East European Languages) Award for Best Contribution to Language Pedagogy.
2008 - Natalya Baranskaya. Just Another Week
"This is a novelistic first-person account of a typical week in the life of a Soviet woman and her efforts to hold down two full-time jobs: one as a scientist in a laboratory, the other as a mother and wife. The style is straight-forward and lively -- an excellent text for student reading, since it contains a great deal of very useful, every-day vocabulary. The language of the original has not been simplified, although it has been very slightly abridged. The purpose of the edition is to provide interesting accented, glossed, and annotated reading material for students who have had two or more years of Russian"
Edited by Lora Paperno, Natalie Roklina, and Richard Leed, 1989 - Russian Folktales. A Reader
“Russian Folktales: A Reader is designed for English-speaking students of Russian language and literature. Each of the eight texts, which are graded from simple to more advanced, provides important pieces of original Russian, a glimpse into the culture of Russia through folktales and an understanding of basic and idiomatic grammar. It includes an introduction to the work or genre, vocabulary, and a variety of pedagogical materials to facilitate classroom discussion”
By Jason Merrill and Colleen Lucey, 2016 (second edition) - The Meek One: A Fantastic Story. An Annotated Russian Reader
“This fully annotated paperback learner’s edition of Dostoevsky's short story The Meek One is intended for intermediate and advanced Russian students. In addition to the Russian text, the book includes an introduction discussing the story's historical context, literary significance, and critical response; an extensive glossary and a learner's dictionary; discussion questions; and vocabulary quizzes, exercises, and self-tests. The complete audio of the book’s text and an interactive glossary are available online"
By Fyodor Dostoevsky; Edited by Julia Titus, 2011 - Poetry Reader for Russian Learners
“Through the poetry of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Russian authors, including Pushkin and Akhmatova, Poetry Reader for Russian Learners helps upper-beginner, intermediate, and advanced Russian students refine their language skills. Poems are coded by level of difficulty. The text facilitates students’ interaction with authentic texts by means of a complete set of learning tools, including biographical sketches of each poet, stress marks, annotations, exercises, questions for discussion, and a glossary. An ancillary Web site contains audio files for all poems”
Edited by Julia Titus, 2015 - Russian Readers from Zlatoust Publisher (Saint Petersburg, Russia)
Russian Publisher Zlatoust offers numerous Russian language readers at various levels of difficulty with works by nineteenth-century and Soviet writers (Pushkin, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Chekhov; Rasputin, Strugatskie) as well as contemporary authors (Akunin, Ulitskaia, Pelevin, Bykov)
In Russian
- Поехали! и Поехали-2! Русский язык для взрослых. Начальный курс и Базовый курс.
"Первая часть учебника предназначена для начинающих изучать русский язык, вторая - для продолжающих на базовом уровне. Цель курса — обеспечение быстрого усвоения разных аспектов языка и видов речевой деятельности. В учебнике совмещены грамматический и разговорный курсы. Словарь в конце пособия включает перевод на английский, немецкий и французский языки. Иллюстрации, таблицы. Аудиоприложениe 2CD" - Лестница. Учебник по русскому языку для начинающих
"Учебник М.Н.Аникиной адресован тем, кто приступает к изучению русского языка как иностранного «с нуля». Цель обучения – свободное, полноценное общение на русском языке.
Созданный в рамках авторской методики, учебник обладает рядом особенностей. Так в нём отсутствует поурочно-тематическая организация материала: все тексты построены по сюжетному принципу. Чтобы ускорить вхождение учащихся в живую речь, изменена традиционная последовательность подачи грамматики. Активно используются такие принципы, как проблемность в обучении, прагматичность, эвристичность и интерактивность. Все задания носят коммуникативный характер" - Жили-были... 28 уроков русского языка для начинающих
"Интенсивный начальный коммуникативный курс русского языка для взрослых. В двух частях. Первая часть состоит из учебника, рабочей тетради, аудиоприложения (70 мин.) Каждый урок включает в себя речевой этикет, грамматику, текст, притекстовые задания, упражнения, игровые задания, тексты-шутки"
- Владимир-2. Интенсивный курс русского языка для среднего уровня.
"Курс для занятий на базовом-первом уровне (А2-В1). Учит в сжатые сроки устному общению на русском языке, умению понимать и вести беседу на бытовые и общекультурные темы. В то же время уделяется внимание выработке навыков чтения, а также самостоятельного анализа грамматических явлений изучаемого языка, что способствует более прочному усвоению материала. Грамматический комментарий на английском языке, цветные иллюстрации" - Дорога в Россию. Учебник русского языка (первый уровень): В 2 т.
"Учебник русского языка для иностранцев в трех частях для взрослых учащихся. Третья часть готовит к тесту I сертификационного уровня (В1).
В двух томах. Цветные иллюстрации, таблицы. Аудиоприложение.
- Окно в Россию. Часть 1, 2
"Пособие в двух частях по развитию устной и письменной речи для владеющих русским языком на II-III сертификационном уровне (В2-С1, продвинутый этап). Живые диалоги, самая свежая информация о современной России, дискуссии по актуальным проблемам постсоветского общества, работа с текстами разных жанров и стилей. Книга первая включает темы: «Российская семья в новой экономической ситуации», «Городская скульптура и общество», «Возможности профессиональной реализации в современной России», «Новые фильмы на российских экранах». Имеется аудиоприложение" - Учебный комплекс "Уроки русского"
"Адресован иностранным студентам, которые обучаются в вузах гуманитарного профиля (социологам, журналистам, политологам, философам, экономистам и др.) и владеют русским языком в объеме Первого сертификационного уровня – ТРКИ – I (B1). Учебник для студентов предназначен для работы с преподавателем и имеет модульный характер. Каждый модуль посвящен рассмотрению отдельных гуманитарных и естественно-научных проблем. Такая организация материала дает возможность пользоваться учебником студентам разных специальностей. Знания по русскому языку, которые они получат, помогут освоить специальность, научат вести дискуссии по актуальным вопросам той или иной предметной области. В грамматическую часть включены сведения о словообразовательных моделях, лексических и фразеологических единицах, различных частях речи и синтаксических конструкциях" - Лексика русского языка : сборник упражнений / под ред. Амиантовой Э.И.
"Цель данного пособия — помочь иностранцам разобраться в наиболее трудных случаях словоупотребления в русском языке. Сборник состоит из разделов: "Глагол", "Имя существительное", "Имя прилагательное", "Наречие", "Близкие по значению слова, относящиеся к разным частям речи". В сборник включено большое количество языковых и речевых упражнений, которые для каждой группы слов даны в определенной последовательности: от наблюдения и осознания языковых фактов - к употреблению их в данном контексте, а затем в разговорной речи"
- Чистая грамматика
"Пособие Е. Ласкаревой развивает языковую и речевую компетенцию от первого сертификационного уровня (B1) через повторение и контроль ко второму — третьему уровням (B2-C1). В нем представлены наиболее актуальные темы: падежи, виды глагола, глаголы движения, причастия и деепричастия, префиксальные глаголы. Упражнения даны по принципу нарастающей сложности. Наряду с обучением грамматике ведется последовательная работа по расширению лексического запаса. Контрольные упражнения и тесты снабжены ключами" - Грамматика русского языка в упражнениях и комментариях. Морфология
"Пособие рекомендуется использовать для подготовки к сдаче тестов II-III сертификационного уровня (B2-C1). Включает наиболее важные разделы практической грамматики, а также теоретический материал, необходимый для их выполнения. Задания построены на основе наиболее частотных конструкций разговорной речи. Наиболее сложные упражнения снабжены ключами" - Грамматика русского языка в упражнениях и комментариях. Синтаксис
"Учебное пособие продолжает книгу «Грамматика русского языка в упражнениях и комментариях. Морфология» О.И.Глазуновой. Специально разработанные упражнения, представленные в сборнике, помогут учащимся понять, как строятся в русском языке словосочетания и предложения, какие способы существуют для выражения главных и второстепенных членов и на что надо обращать внимание при употреблении синонимичных предлогов, союзов и союзных слов. Обилие комментариев даёт возможность использовать сборник не только под руководством преподавателя, но и для самостоятельной работы учащихся. Имеются ключи и алфавитный указатель. Для продвинутого этапа обучения" - Грамматика русского языка в иллюстрациях
"Основная цель данного учебного пособия — на доступных примерах дать абстрактные правила грамматики русского языка. Повседневные ситуации, изображенные на картинках, иллюстрируют употребление определенной конструкции или формы. Это позволяет избежать специальной лингвистической терминологии, трудных для нефилологов абстрактных формулировок. «Грамматика русского языка в иллюстрациях» — это справочник, который может быть привлечен в качестве дополнительного материала к любому основному учебнику русского языка" - Russian Grammar in Tables. Русская грамматика в таблицах
"Учебное пособие представляет собой справочник, в доступной форме освещающий трудности русской грамматики. Таблицы пособия включают в себя значения, образование и изменение различных частей речи.
Данное учебное пособие предназначено для иностранцев, изучающих русский язык на любом уровне. Оно может использоваться студентами и преподавателями для предъявления и изучения грамматического материала, для систематизации знаний, а также при подготовке к текстам и экзаменам"
Russian Language Textbook Publishers
The largest publishing houses in Russia specializing in Russian as a foreign language:
- Издательство "Златоуст"
Based in Saint Petersburg. They publish the finest educational materials for teaching and learning Russian language as a foreign at all levels: a large variety of textbooks with CD-supplement, study and training materials for the development of speech, writing, listening and reading comprehension skills, computer courses, learning DVD. They also offer materials for preparation and taking the State Certificate Tests (TORFL) for Russian as a foreign language. - Издательство "Русский язык. Курсы"
Based in Moscow. It specializes in publishing teaching aids for those who study Russian as a foreign language. They offer a great variety of textbooks and readers, books on history and culture, as well as manuals on the methods of teaching Russian as a foreign language. The publishing house was a pioneer in releasing books for children of compatriots living abroad. Their list of books includes dictionaries, readers and grammar books, funny developing language games for both kids and their parents. - Издательство учебной литературы "Флинта"
Based in Moscow, Flinta specializes in publishing educational literature. - Bergstrom Press & Books (formerly Russia Online Bookstore)
Exclusive distributor of Zlatoust in USA. This bookstore has a great selection of textbooks on Russian as a foreign language published in Russia.
